we are boston

It’s been about 12 years since I’ve officially been able to call Massachusetts home. But, if home is where the heart is, MA (and Boston) will forever be home for me. It’s where I grew up. It’s the place where all my sports allegences lie. It’s the place where every April on the first day of vacation, I would watch the Boston Marathon. Thinking, these people are CRAZY. 26.2 miles. Heart Break Hill. The start line was probably less than 10 miles away from the house that I lived in. that I grew up in. I’ve been to ass early patriots day red sox game (though it was delayed due to rain the year i went) and still have a little marathon cowbell that my friend’s mom smuggled into fenway (I, like the rule follower that I am, gave mine up at the fenway gate…)

The events of monday pained me. it hit me so terribly hard. It made me heart sick. All those little kids, starting off their april vacations like they do every year watching the marathon. All those people hurt/injured/killed. Athletes that have trained for who knows how long to make it to this race. That have already run another marathon, so that they could run Boston. My friend from high school for who as long as I can remember has run Boston as a fundraiser (she’s okay). The relief I felt with seeing my friends that remain in MA on facebook, checking in to say that they and theirs were okay. I think it’s hit me a little bit harder that I would’ve ever expected. There’s also an element of who did this? and why weren’t they stopped? was there anything that could’ve been done to prevent this?

But, in all this, it makes my heart sing and I feel an extraordinary amount of pride at the outpouring of love and support from bostonians/massachusettsians/everyone. it literally brings tears to my eyes to think about it and to see it. like sweet caroline at yankee stadium (though, after the 3rd inning?! it’s the thought that counts right?) and united we stand on the sign outside the stadium.

I hope they catch the bastard that did this, and make them train for not just one, but two 26.2 mile races, and then tear his limbs from his body. and then smash his head in. but, being a civilized society, and semi-human. maybe dumping him in a hole to rot.

pretty much had that inside and had to get it out.

we are boston/boston strong.

Log in to write a note
April 17, 2013

We were all so sad to hear that. It’s ridiculous how we can’t be safe enjoying the little things we love to do. My prayers go out to your friends and family members.

Fellow Masshole here, saw you on the front page. You should find today’s Bruins game national anthem.. its on YouTube. Boston strong it was!