Me 2.0

No not as in “Me Too” where your hero ends up on the casting couch.

I’m serious today. Bummed out actually. I read all these other diarists with heart wrenching memories and problems and I walk away shaking my head and asking myself what in the world I have to offer. Platitudes? How do I go about sincerely helping?  What can I say when I read about a fight with cancer? Or losing a spouse? Or abuse? Or poverty? Or unrequited love? The list goes on.

How can I feel justified discussing my petty self absorbed introspections?

This is all familiar. Been here. Done this.

Stopped writing.

And I need to write. It’s very, very important for me.

I wish I could help. I really, really do.

I’m afraid I’m just too selfish to be a decent citizen of a “community” like this.

And this pathetic little entry is an ideal testimony to my point.

 

I write extensively on WordPress.

My themes are gorgeous. Polished.

My blogs are all public.

But it’s like howling at the moon.

I never hear an echo.

Just silence.

I deserve it.

“And in the end, the love you take is equal to the love you make.”

– Paul McCartney

 

Log in to write a note
January 30, 2018

Or maybe it’s like Jimi Hendrix said, “The magic carpet waits for you so don’tchoo be late.”

On the other hand, working on the next release of yourself is an inspirational idea. Thank you for that and good luck with the upgrade.

January 30, 2018

I gently beg to differ here. One writes I’d hope to express what it is to be human. And cancer, death, loss of love, of job etc. are parts of that journey. I believe people write to see what they are thinking, and to develop what they are thinking into ideas, notions, concrete concepts that can be shared, addressed, and yes, enjoyed. Diaries exist for those sorts of announcements. Help? Because they are public these pages may seem that way…at least mine might…but actually that is the good nature I’d say of the reader wanting to help — but help is best to come from self understanding and loving one’s stumbling experiences, one after the other. We put them on the pages to bring about our own understanding. We share them here in a generous way…this is how it is today, in my life we are saying, and readers are free here to simply respond if they care to or pass on by.

January 30, 2018

I think that you are being a little to hard on yourself. Realistically, what can any of us do? So you leave a nice note, express condolences, share that you care. Do you really believe that anymore is expected of you? Just by being here, you are a part of the community. We old be less without you.

January 30, 2018

I need to write too, but for me it is about getting it all out, warts and all. Some of that is horrible, some of it is funny, it is daily musings or crap at work. Getting it out is what helps me fix it. Seeing it in black and white, characters on a screen, makes it more manageable. I don’t have any expectations of anyone who reads me. It sometimes through those words a connection is made and that is enough 🙂

January 31, 2018

I read this last night, but didn’t know what I might say. I find that quite often there are no answers, only more questions.

Self-introspection is part of the human experience just as is cancer, abuse, death. We each have our own journey. Sometimes the journey is difficult and self-introspection may help us to overcome. Looking inside the truth of oneself is not always easy, and journalizing helps. Here, you have a place to do that because there is usually no one who wants to listen, they might hear, but a listening person is hard to come by.

You can compare what you have to say with what others say, but that’s not really helpful for your journey. One person can’t fix/help everyone.

And this is not a “pathetic little entry.” It’s an entry about caring.

February 3, 2018

I come here on OD as a witness and to be witnessed. No matter what happens, when experiences are shared with a supportive audience then the good things become more real and have more meaning and the bad things are easier to process and tolerate. We give the gift of “seeing” another person. And as social creatures, even us who are introverts, have a deep desire to be “seen”.