Back at last!

I haven’t written an entry since mid May, in fact I haven’t visited very often either. After the entries about our holiday which all went wrong  I got kind of disillusioned. It was actually down to my writing them in Microsoft Word, as I didn’t have access to the internet while on holiday, and when I tried to copy and paste them after I got home they wouldn’t load. It wasn’t OD’s fault and I was given swift advice on how to sort it, but several things were getting me down at that time and I just couldn’t cope with it. I still haven’t sorted those entries but will try to get down to it eventually!

Another thing that upset me was that I thought I had lost all of my photos at Webshots. The website was taken over and renamed Smile and everything changed and my photos disappeared. A lot of them had not been backed up after my old computer died so it seemed that many precious memories over the last 10 years had been lost. Then they reappeared and have since disappeared but I did manage to download most of the important ones.

After having almost the whole week of our holiday free of migraines, my health seems to have detereorated since. I used to get them in the mornings about 3 or 4 times a week. I have medication that relieves the pain and sickness but leaves me feeling washed out and unable to concentrate, and more importantly unable to write. I just can’t compose sentences in my brain after I have taken them and that lasts most of the day. I had developed ways to cope with life in general. I only made appointments or arranged outings in afternoons when the side effects would be beginning to wear off. I would catch up with certain household tasks, telephone calls, dealing with mail etc on non migraine days.

But now the pattern has changed. I sometimes get them for 5 or 6 days in a row and the build up of the medication leaves me feeling awful. They are also sometimes developing in the afternoon or evening which means I may have to cancel things. It’s really hard to cope with. I’m not sure how long I will be able to continue with my voluntary job as I need to be reliable there. It is also difficult arranging to meet friends as people who don’t suffer with chronic migraine don’t understand. My son has them too and when he has to take a day off work they say ‘Why don’t you take an aspirin or something?’ ‘Gosh,’ he said to them once, ‘Why didn’t I think of that?’

Anyway, that’s where I am now. Right now I’m trying to get back to my writing. I’m giving it top priority when I am well. After all, if I clean the house it will only get dirty again but, hopefully what I write will still be there. I still haven’t done anything about publishing my book. I’ve been considering self publishing on Kindle just to get it out there.

Life apart from all of this is much the same. I still have 2 sons at home. The eldest is now 32. They have both left and come back for different reasons. My daughter is still in Cardiff with her partner. I don’t see her very often and I do miss her but I am so glad she is doing some living at last. They are considering going to Spain for the winter because of her seasonal affective Disorder. Her boyfriend’s family are there.

We lost our beautiful 19 year old cat in June, but the other 4 are still going strong.

I’ve thoroughly enjoyed Summer so far, we didn’t have it last year! We went to Shrewsbury for the flower show and stayed ovenight and visited the Roman city of Wroxeter the next day. and are having a short break in West Wales at the end of September.

I must stop now but will come back and catch up with other people’s diaries soon and really try to keep up regular entries again.

 

Log in to write a note