St Jude’s

 

Well I didn’t do very well with writing regularly, it’s 2 months again.

We are supposed to have had the ‘storm of the century’ last night but it seemed just like a normal autumn storm to me. According to the news it was pretty bad in the south. They are calling it St Jude’s storm because today is St Jude’s Day. He was the patron saint of lost causes.

Today you wouldn’t believe it had happened, the sun is shining and the garden looks so pretty with the changing colours and leaves scattered across the lawn. I would like to go out there but have bad problems with my leg again. After 2 years of intermittent pain from a tight hamstring it finally seemed to be getting better these last few weeks then, yesterday, I woke in agony. I could barely put my weight on the leg and can’t bend down unless I put all of my weight on the other one. Today it is slightly better but still pretty bad and I have another threatening migraine so I have come back to bed afer lunch. We have my daughter’s dog with us for a month and I had wanted to take her out somewhere special before the weather gets too bad so I hope it does improve soon. Perhaps I should pray to St Jude about it!

At the beginnig of the month we had 4 days on the West Wales coast. We stayed at Borth, a little seaside resort that I last visited when I was 8 years old. I couldn’t believe we were staying at the same site, although now much bigger and more sophisticated. It brought back distant memories of Mum and I staying in a tiny 2 berth caravan. There was a little cafe round the corner attached to a bed and breakfast. The B & B was called The Limit because it was the last house on the promenade and the cafe was The Very Limit. Mum was so amused by it that, when we moved to a bungalow at the end of a cul de sac a few years later, she called it The Limit. Imagine my amazement to find The Limit Cafe is still there after 58 years!

Talking of B & Bs, there is one in Monmouth that we often pass on our Sunday drives called St Judes. I’ve often wondered if they knew what he was patron saint of. I guess they do now.

Log in to write a note