Nevermind.

Apparently my parents ARE coming for Christmas now. They didn’t want my husband to be alone and so they’re making the trip even though my stepdad has dementia. It will be challenging but at least we will all be together.

Shannon had a colonoscopy yesterday, so I took the day off work. He was being sedated so he wasn’t allowed to drive or even take a cab without accompaniment. While he was in getting the procedure completed I went to the mall and finished our Christmas shopping! I even managed to snag one of those damn Fingerling Monkeys for my Goddaughter Hayley. And I got her brother this WWE wrestling ring and action figures. Apparently that’s what he wanted. *shrugs*

I’m off work on Saturday and so is Shannon so we’re going to put our Christmas tree up then. Usually we put it in the basement (the rec room) because that’s where our fireplace is, however we might put it upstairs this year so my stepdad doesn’t have to do as many stairs. It’s a pretty wide tree though so I don’t know if that will work… we’ll see. We don’t even have a tv in our living room, just in the rec room because I don’t really watch tv and Shannon likes being down in his “man cave”. We’ll need to watch Christmas Vacation on Christmas Eve, because well, we just have to.

So I’m back to hosting Christmas. This puts a little more pep in my step. The thought of being away from my husband and just going through the motions because I HAD to was really getting me down.

Anywho, I’m at work so I had better work. 🙂

 

Log in to write a note
November 29, 2017

I’m glad you get to, A. Stay home & be with hubby, and B. Have Mom & Stepdad over! I just learned of Fingerlings the other evening. They seem to be the hot item for kiddos!! They fly in / and out/ the doors of stores and people have to hunt all over the place to get them, lol. I kinda want them too, LOL. I’m 74 and a big (little) kid at heart. :*) Have a great day!!

November 29, 2017

Glad that worked out the way you wanted it to!