Christmas Plans

Today was fairly uneventful (see a pattern here?)

Set my alarm clock a half hour earlier today because it was snowing last night. Actually got to work on time (yay me!) and I didn’t get scheduled an intake, which is basically unheard of, but I guess I did one in the afternoon on Friday (I normally do them in the morning) so they spared me. No appointments today – I was actually bored!

Went shopping at lunch with my coworker Bronwyn. I got my grandma a birthday card and some scratch-off bingo tickets (she likes those) so I can put that in the mail tonight. Didn’t see much else and we didn’t have a ton of time. Speaking of my grandma this is the first year we won’t head to her house over Christmas as she went into a retirement home this summer and sold her house she has lived in for 60 years (original owners). She’s turning 94 next month and lived by herself since 1991 when my grandpa died of lung cancer. That is the only house my mom ever knew growing up (she’s 58) and so even though it was time things will be a bit different now. Usually we meet on Boxing Day and stay at grandma’s house and then the last few years we’ve gone to my Aunt Sherrie’s house which is just a few blocks away for drinks and appetizers. Everything is up in the air this Christmas. Nobody knows wtf we’re doing. *shrugs*

Even if something does get planned I will likely be going alone as my husband quit his job at the university (long story for another time there!) and now works retail until he starts school in January. We left with a $60,000 settlement though so we have money to live on plus my job which is a “good” job. Anyway, the point of that was that he works retail now so he’ll likely work Christmas Eve and Boxing Day which means we can’t very well travel anywhere and all our family lives in different cities at least a couple hours away. Normally my parents come up, but my stepdad has developed dementia this last year and he no longer travels well. He came up for Thanksgiving in October and he kept saying he wanted to go home and had a hard time with all my stairs. So I had to choose between seeing my mom (the love of my life), my 81 year old stepdad with dementia, my 94 year old grandma who is spending her first Christmas not at home and my husband on Christmas Day.

Shannon said he doesn’t mind being alone and I actually believe him because I think all the lithium he takes has killed any sense of emotion he might have. Still, the situation sucks. I’ve never had a Christmas without my mom and I don’t plan on it until that is no longer an option.

So maybe that’s why I’m dragging my ass to finalize my Christmas shopping and put up my tree this year? I guess I should want to decorate the house as this is where Shannon and our beloved dog Chloe will be for Christmas. But I feel blah about it… maybe by the end of the week I’ll get at it?

Anywho it’s Monday night which means I have to get ready to go to Sparks! Bye for now!

 

Log in to write a note
November 27, 2017

awww I want snow

November 27, 2017

I’ll mail you some snow!

November 28, 2017

$60,000 settlement for what !?