last couple days

Earlier this week I saw on Facebook that an ex coworker’s husband was in the hospital. He was out driving, someone ran right into him, hit the drivers door. That accident was about 10 days after mine (someone turned right in front of me). I had just stopped thinking about my accident. Then she posted a couple pics of her husband’s vehicle. My mind raced for a couple days. Thought about all the ‘what if’s’ with my accident. Her husband is alive, just broken ribs, internal bleeding.

I finally got done with the awful project at work on Friday. I’m glad it’s done. Boss is trying to get rid of this project so we don’t have issues again. It was suppose to happen last year (where I never had to do it again) but boss didn’t do anything about it. To celebrate, Aaron and I bought some alcohol to drink at home. I stayed awake til about 11. Had 2 strong drinks. I kinda felt gross Saturday morning. I need to remember too much alcohol and too much sugar makes me feel funny the next day.

I decided to buy tickets for the USD/KState football game. I was torn about this for a little while. Part of it is useless spending. I really don’t need to drive to Kansas for a football game. But it’s about a 5 hour (boring) drive. The tickets weren’t too bad (price wise) but the seating isn’t the best. Only tickets left were in 1 of the end zones. I’ve been to a Kstate game years ago. My dad and step mom live down there too. They always get season tickets. I don’t really want to see them. But think I might run into them. Aaron said I don’t have to mention to them I’m down there. My step mom barely talks to me. I don’t get along with my dad much anymore, mainly cause of my step mom. And my dad is always about money and being rich.

I also booked a hotel room. I got a room in a neighboring town. It was way cheaper that way (and the fact the game is over labor day weekend). So we’ll probably get to the hotel really late on a Friday. Like 930 pm at the latest (if the drive goes well). The game is Saturday at 6 pm. Then drive home Sunday morning. And still have the monday off work.

Seems like our weekends are starting to get busy again.

My mom is coming Aug 17 for the weekend. Riverboat days is that weekend.

The following weekend is a wine tasting event in the neighboring town.

Then to Kansas

Then a home football game and Ribs, Rods and Rock and roll.

Then a free weekend

Then camping by Brookings.

Log in to write a note
August 13, 2018

It is hard to believe football season is a mere 3 weeks away. The fall is always full of stuff here. Large music festivals, football games in a stadium that seats 100,000, street art festivals. This town comes alive when the students return to school.

August 14, 2018

@altair Where do you live? I’m in Yankton, SD. There is a college here, but it’s not a big school. The college doesn’t even have a football team (which I find odd). So the town doesn’t really come ‘alive’ in the fall.

August 14, 2018

@serenadeoliver I am not sure, but I think we have more people living in Austin Texas than there are in all of SD. I live in Austin, home of the University of Texas (50,000 students). They take their football very seriously here.

August 14, 2018

What a busy life you have.  I live in Kansas.  Where did you find reservations on a game day?  Maybe Junction City?  I was amazed that Bill Snyder signed on to coach for another 5 years.  Have a great time!

August 14, 2018

@dlk082244  The hotel is in Junction City. Other than the game we don’t have anything planned.

August 14, 2018

We  Live in Sabetha, Ks , which is a good 2 hrs. away from Manhattan.  I’m waiting for hip replacement  surgery  in Sept. or I would  try to meet  you.  I’ve met with  lots of  ODers  over the years.