theme 35 (and volleyball)

What’s a mistake people make about me? The one that came to mind was my ‘bitch face’. Awhile ago at work (maybe a year ago?) a new lady told me something about me and my bitch face. I swear, I’m not a bitch. What some people don’t realize is I’m not a morning person. Don’t talk to me. Don’t approach me. Don’t look in my direction. Don’t do anything with me before 9 AM.

I’m normally awake by 5:30 AM at the latest. I have to be to work by 7 AM. I have no energy, no desire to deal with anyone before 830-9 AM. I may bite people’s heads off before then. I don’t know why it takes me so long to wake up, to feel energized.

So, people sometimes think I’m mean, when I’m really not.


Last night (Thurs night) Watertown high school volleyball team came to Yankton for a game. I wanted to go weeks ago. But Thursday at work was a nightmare. I wanted to have a bottle of wine to forget about work and unwind. Kinda at the last minute I decided to not drink and watch volleyball.

I use to be the student manager for volleyball 3 years of high school. I was never good at playing. I needed something in my life at the time to keep me busy and motivated to keep my grades up (not that I was a bad student without it….but pushed me to do better). The head coach of Watertown use to be my 8th grade volleyball coach. Her last name is Hirtz. She saw me pay to get in. I had my purple Watertown Arrow shirt on. She remembered I lived down in the Yankton/Vermillion area where the normal color is red. So she called out to me and said, “I’m surprised you still have your Arrow shirt. I bet you pull that out once a year.” We both laughed and I said, ‘basically, yes’. She was headed into the bathroom so I didn’t have the chance to talk to her more (varsity was about to start….warm ups were almost done).

When I was the student manager, Hirtz was the sophomore volleyball coach. I’ve known her for about 18 years now. I kinda grew up with her around in middle school and high school. She got the varsity head coach about 2-3 years ago. She’s only about 10 years older than me.

While I was there I saw another coach I had. Mr. Heesch. He was my 7th grade basketball coach. He also was part of the high school volleyball coaching staff. His daughter is a sophomore in high school and playing volleyball. So he made the trip down to Yankton. I got to talk to him and catch up on his life (he was curious about mine).

A couple other Watertown parents talked to me. Felt so nice and amazing to be around the Watertown people, volleyball people. Made me miss home a little. I felt so happy

Log in to write a note
October 13, 2018

Dorothy was right, there’s no place like home.

October 14, 2018

With my limited knowledge of geography in your neck of the woods, that’s a far hike for a game. Then again, we’re spoiled, everything out here is extremely close together.

Thank you for your note on my entry. Take care.