Exhaustion

I am so ridiculously tired, so if I stop making sense, either my brain shut off or I completely stopped caring what my fingers were typing…

We had a date today. Our initial plan was movie at 11:15 then off to lunch at Red Robin, then some shopping because why not and them groceries on the way home. Instead…

On the way to the mall I noticed an annoying squealing noise coming from the car, not from braking and most of the time when no feet were on the pedals at all. Really odd and spooky. Jake said it was nothing so I trusted him and forgot about it.

We went to see Anchorman 2 (and it was $10 for the both of us… super cheap tickets before noon? Score! Must remember for the future.) and it was pretty good. We both laughed A LOT. There were 7 people in the cinema so plenty of space… and so at about the halfway point the two people sitting near us moved far far away because we were laughing too much. Hahaha! Good movie.

And then after the movie I googled squealing car, got freaked out that the axle was going to break and the tyre fly off, and refused to drive to a restaurant an hour from home. So while we shopped for some pants for the little one (3 pairs of leggings, 1 pair warm pants… and sunnies.) I pouted about the lack of delicious burger being in my belly in the near future. We went to Maggie Mcfly’s instead, it is on the way home anyway.

Once the car started, so did the thunder and lightning. And then intense rain. I couldn’t see more than the car in front of me, and we were on the highway. Fun. The only actual fun part was when we were under the highway going the other direction, and in between the sections of road there would be a curtain of intense rain that would hit the windshield like a body falling from the sky. Freaky boom each time, but kind of fun because… I don’t know why.

We got to Maggie’s (didn’t hear the squeal again, rain was too loud) and the first park was taken over by a car tyre over the line, then the next park some bitch was saving, so we ended up in a stupid place that involved 4 steps to reverse out of at the end of the meal. Food was good, so that was good, but I always just want to eat in bed, or laying down, so I was just… lamenting my lack of being at home with the freedom to eat in bed. I had the hawaiian pizza and it was GOOD, even with the fresh parsley on top. Jake had pasta something with sausage.

The drive from the meal to Stop & Shop was nerve-wracking. The road isn’t perfectly smooth so each slight rumble I felt I was sure meant the car was going to crumble beneath us. Plus it was still raining but not as much so people were being reckless again. Then we got lots of groceries (didn’t go last week, too cold!) and came home to hear all about the adventures of Ashley and Grandma.

I am just… so tired from the day. The stress from the car and the weather. But even without those two things I would still be exhausted. Going out utterly exhausts me. At least when we go out with Ashley I have a good reason to be so tired afterwards that I need a day to relax and recover afterwards. When we go out without an almost-2-year-old and her needs… what is my excuse? Other than I am ridiculous. Oh, and I didn’t have my lunchtime coffee so I also have a stupid headache. Yay for that.

I wish I had a fresh batch of peanut butter cookies that I could just sit here, on the couch curled up under 3 blankets on a not-cold night, and eat without feeling guilty about being so unhealthy. Fuck it, I just wish I had the cookies at all. Mmm…

Log in to write a note
January 12, 2014

Pity your day wasn’t as good as you had planned. Still sounds pretty good. Except for the heavy rain. My front wheel squeals when I first start to drive (either in reverse or forward) which we first noticed when Michael put the passenger window down – can’t hear it with the window shut. But it stops soon afterwards. I haven’t done anything about that either. Now I am going to worry that my wheel will fly off and the axle will break. Mmmmm, cookies………