Magic and shiny and awesome and belly.

I hate that there is a pile of christmas presents, half for me, just sitting in this room. They are so tempting. It’s much easier waiting to be given gifts, rather than having them in advance and wanting to wait to open them but… ugh.

I have things to do today. Must mail off my OD-KK gift. I’m so lazy, I should have done it a week ago, or earlier this week… but I keep putting it off for no real reason. Today is the deadline so I have to get it out today. Would have done it yesterday afternoon once Jake got home from work, but when he got home I was waking from a nap, so I didn’t remember. By the time I did remember, maybe half hour later, the post office was shut. Must must do that today. I think it is a crappy gift and I’m worried the person it is going to won’t like it. It does include socks though, and socks are awesome.

We also need to go grocery shopping, get enough stuff for 2 weeks so we won’t have to go to the store the day before christmas. Jake helped me write up the meal list when he was on his lunch break, so making the list will be easily completed now. Might do that tomorrow morning, because we’re planning on taking Jake to the barber beforehand, and I can have a gift for Walt if we go tomorrow.

I have gingerbread dough in the fridge, just waiting for me to slightly roll it out and use my multitude of amusing cookie cutters to make tasty shapes. Very easy. Sometimes I hate dough that needs to sit in the fridge for at least an hour before you can turn it into cookies, and sometimes it is just fantastic. I did the messy sticky mixing part yesterday, but everything is clean now, and I can relax and do the easy part. Mmm, gingerbread. I love dunking gingerbread cookies into hot chocolate, that right there is everything that is perfect in deliciousness.

I have to remember to get Jake to sign this month’s rent check. We usually pay at the beginning of the month, but I guess I forgot. Oops. The good and bad thing about being on good friendly terms with the landlord is that he doesn’t pester us if we don’t pay at the start. I wonder if he would have mentioned it by the end of the month if we forgot? At least I have a good excuse for forgetting – pregnancy brain.

There is a christmas party downstairs tomorrow. I think it is the customer appreciation meal-type thing, but I’m not sure. I’ve never enjoyed the food at those parties, I’m too picky, and it will be hard to sit there and not eat, what with having a baby in me and all. I’ll be hungry and people will be like EAT!! and I won’t want to. Beh. However, I have said I’ll go, so I guess I have to. Not sure if Jake et al are exchanging their secret santa gifts then or not. When Jake asked he was told the 17th was the exchange, but he may not have used that word and may have said party? Who knows. Guess I’ll send him down to ask when he takes the rent check down after work. I could ask myself, but…. nuts to that.

Ooh, last night I was on the couch, resting my hands on my belly, and then a cute little lump poked up into the palm of my hand. No idea if it was a hand or a foot (I’m thinking foot) but awww, baby.

Must… make… cookies!

*edit* Oh man, I rule. Tasty tasty cookies! The first batch from the oven (there were at least 4 from the one batch of dough) and part of the last batch are too thin for me to enjoy, but the flavour is amazing. The rest are soooo soft and awesome and yay. The best ones, however, were the miniature ones I made at the very end to use up the scraps (I LOVE having mini cookie cutters!), they only got baked for 4 minutes instead of 6 like the big ones, so they are all perfectly soft and amazing and yyuuuuuuuuuummmmmmmmm. BUT I am too awesome for my own good, I took a plate full of the mini ones downstairs for people when they were still fresh and warm, leaving me with only 5 mini cuties. And 3 of those are gone already. Usually I fail on the mini ones, they come out way too crunchy, but today it was perfect. I hope they were enjoyed by Jake and his coworkers.

Log in to write a note
December 16, 2011

Awwww, cute lump! I missed out on that part because the placenta was out front, along with an extra 100 lbs or so of fluff. ;op ~jo

Fact? The only way I can do gingerbread is if it’s practically crispy within an inch of its little cookie life. If it’s all soft… we are not friends. If I could snap it in half… it’s love.

Awww baby!

December 16, 2011

ryn: Oh really? Must have just been the fluff then. ;o) ~jo

December 16, 2011

Oh how I love gingerbread. Om nom nom. I really should try and make it from scratch one day. But it’s far easier to buy it and decorate and then eat it 😛

December 16, 2011

RYN: I doubt it. They’re just plain old ultrasound pictures and they probably look just like every other ultrasound picture ever. Also, since they’re just print outs (no cd or video or anything), I’d have to find a way to scan them and I’m just too lazy for that.

I love dunking it in tea or coffee. mmmmmmmm.

Ihave never been tempted to open presents or peek or go looking for them .. hmmm no idea why – guess I know it’ll ruin the surprise. awwww, baby A wanting to hold Mummy’s hand!

December 17, 2011

That girl of yours is just soooo cute already. Clever Sez for making great gingerbread.