My return?

Hey all!

i’ve wanted to write, I really have.  But besides things being super busy, I still do not have a computer, and typing an entry on my phone takes forever!  So, while my friend is staying with me for audition season, I am stealing her laptop!  Unfortunately, it’s a Mac… lol

Anyway, I wanted to relate a story from one of my many auditions I’ve had this season*.  Without naming the opera company, I sang for a company on Friday, and this is how it went down:

– Sings Recondita armonia from Puccini’s Tosca.
– Tells auditioner the other songs I have brought with me for him to choose what I will sing next.  He tells me he wants to hear the Italian Singer from Rosenkavalier.
–  Auditioner then says,
"Do you think the Italian Singer is a casual piece?"
Me: Um, excuse me?
"You seemed to think the Tosca was casual."
I’m not sure I understand your meaning?
"You sang the Tosca as if it was a casual piece, so I was asking to see if you’d treat the Italian Singer the same way."
I don’t think either of them are casual pieces.
"Well, I just thought you had made a dramatic choice to sing it that way, the wrong choice by the way."
… I’m sorry…
"Don’t fucking apologize."
……… I’ll take that into consideration then……..
– Sings the piss out of the second aria, walks out after wishing the auditioners a good afternoon.
– Manager comes out and the first things out of this mild mannered man’s mouth is "What a dick!"

So yeah.  This auditioner is known for being a royal douche.  And the only thing I can think he meant by "casual" is that I started the first aria by crossing my arms across my chest**.  It was quite frustrating and took me by surprise.  Just goes to show you that trust douchetastic people, no matter how much you try and prepare yourself for it, will always surprise you in the end!

Um, not much else to say.  Still hanging out with Lindsey on massively regular basis.  My feelings for her grow every day, and I’m pretty sure that she doesn’t feel exactly the same… but… ugh… it’s very confusing.  So I’m just trying to enjoy the time we’re spending together and not worry about it.  My friend that’s staying with me (whose laptop this belongs to) knew exactly how I felt about her the first time I mentioned it.  And she’s spot on.  Oh well.

I’ve had more auditions in the last 3 months than I’ve had almost all this year previously!  It’s been amazing.  Grant and I are on the same page about my voice, and what I should be doing, so that’s good.  The first show I did this season was a huge success, not only that but I seem to have garnered attention from the higher ups at the Met because of it.  After opening night of Two Boys, Grant got an email from Jonathan Friend saying that they were keeping me in mind for future roles, and would be in touch when something comes up.  And I’m making more money right than I ever thought possible.  It’s insane…  I didn’t know this was possible.  (I actually made more money than my sister and my parents this year…)  

Anything else?  Hmm…  I’m here by myself for Christmas, which is a bit depressing.  It’s my second Christmas away from my family, but that’s all part of life.

Lindsey showed up tonight with a small Christmas tree, and decorations for it.  It’s beautiful.  ðŸ™‚    Now I’m helping her study for a final tomorrow, all about Le nozze di Figaro (The Marriage of Figaro) by Mozart (she’s a singer getting her master’s at Mannes School of Music).  It’s been a fabulous night.

I will be purchasing a laptop soon through my sister’s work (Boeing).  My hope is I can start writing on a regular basis!  AND I would love to start reading on a regular basis.  I will admit that for awhile I was avoiding the site.  But then I had some phone issues, and I just haven’t gotten back into the habit of reading on my down time.

But, I miss you all greatly.  Thank you for the sweet notes left in my absence.  I endeavor to make that absence less and less.  

Love you all!
– Noah 

* – Having a manager ROCKS!  Having MY MANAGER ROCKS!  He’s so amazing.  The more I talk to my friends, the more I’m learning that Grant does so much more for me than most managers.  Such as filing my release requests at the Met, and coming to EVERY AUDITION.  It’s great to have his feedback and his thoughts after each audition.  And, I think this has been a HUGE part of why my auditions have been going so well!
** – This aria is about a painter comparing the woman he loves to the painting of the Maddalena he is painting for the church.  So in many ways the aria is "casual" because he’s not singing to anyway, he’s just singing to himself.  Doesn’t get more casual than that… Hence me crossing my arms……. wistfully.  lol

Log in to write a note
December 9, 2013

YAY! YOU’RE BACK! Sorta. 🙂 Let me know whenever you get your laptop so we can actually get back to talking regularly again. I miss you, Bubbles!! 🙂 Also, wow…the auditioner…talk about a world-class douche. But, I guess it’s par for the course when he’s the one running the deal, right?

December 10, 2013

Nice you see you again. 🙂

December 10, 2013

I miss you and I neeeeeed you to write more!!!

December 10, 2013

I’ve missed you! *hugs*

December 10, 2013

Glad to hear from you and that things are going well. A lot of ODer’s have moved to prosebox. I write over there–about as infrequently as I ever wrote here. Just thought you might like to know!

December 10, 2013

RYN: <3 :Hugs:

December 10, 2013

Glad to see you back! Hope all is well 🙂

December 11, 2013

WE’VE MISSED YOU! I’m sorry that guy was a douche to you, but I’m glad your career has otherwise been booming :). Sucks to be away from home for Christmas – but it’s always easier to stomach when you’re somewhere succeeding in what you love. Write more!

December 11, 2013

Yay!