Brilliant quote

I tivo the Daily Show, and was catching up tonight.  Bill O’Reilley was on the show a week or so ago, and of course he started spouting about tradition as an excuse to keep everything the same.  Jon Stewart had one of the quickest and most brilliant retorts I had ever heard, and I wanted to both share it and preserve it.

He said,  "The tradition in America is a progression of individual freedoms.  You know what the tradition in America would say?  Gay marriage is the next step in the progression of America.  That’s the tradition.  You’re misrepresenting the tradition."  

The jesters still speak the truth.

Namasté,
Sisyphus

 

Log in to write a note
November 23, 2008

I loooved that.

November 23, 2008

Witty indeed.

I would vote for John Stewart.

November 24, 2008

I don’t get why gay marriage is such a big deal!! Seriously, where does it say marriage is only for a man and woman, except for in the bible, which shouldn’t matter because of that whole seperation of church and state thing!

November 24, 2008

ryn: Welcome! What annoys me is that all the “ill-gotten gains” of these companies, made while they were profitable, are being ignored. These banks had record profts for years, and now we have the honor of bailing them out?