Way Too Long

I’ve been contemplating an entry for longer than I should. I just have been gone for a long period of time and there’s so much to say. Most of which is some heavy stuff that I’m not even sure I want to expose! The stuff that isn’t heavy is quite fun and hopeful though so it’s a tug-of-war really when deciding where to start. 

Half a year is so long that I can barely remember the pseudonyms I gave everyone and what I last shared with you in regards to The Phantom (India ex boyfriend for the last 3 years on and off and on and finally off for good), Shisty (The "cousin" whom I grew up with and was my partner in crime, but whom I do not have a relationship with anymore yet am living in her old apartment that I ADORE), or The Queen (ex-girlfriend turned distant friend who really only calls me when she wants to share something exciting about her life or needs some advice for a melodramatic situation she’s enduring), and just many other characters that have surfaced! There’s a lot to tell! So I’ll start with……

…The Phantom. Why? Because this will be really fast. We went into our cycle for one last time after my break-up with The Serbian (which was expected and not difficult what-so-ever on my part. I am pretty certain he is fine too since we still speak to one another.) The best thing that came out of my very short relationship with him was his roommate becoming a close friend of mine. Henceforth to be referred to as Hostess.  Following my break-up with The Serbian, The Phantom and I began to spend time with one another. We had some unfinished business to take care of. Some of which we did, which was to watch the last installment of the Harry Potter series since he was the one to introduce me to it. We had intentions of finishing Seasons 6 & 7 of The West Wing, but I have pulled the plug. 2012 will see no more of him forevermore. It was long overdue and feeling so calm and content with my decision makes it very obvious that I’ve made the best decision. I finally received the sort of confirmation I’ve been waiting three years for. He accidentally sent me a text that should have been meant for someone else and for me that just confirmed that he’s been lying throughout the entire relationship. All I needed to say was "goodbye" and "Go away" via text and that was the end of that. 

I’m presently out of a job. I have been so for the last four months. To discuss that would require and entry unto itself and frankly I don’t really wish to go into those details at this time. I’ve been collecting unemployment and between that and some savings as well as pulling out my retirement fund, I’ve been okay. I knew I wanted these last few months to re-evaluate, enjoy the holidays, and finish the last two classes of my MBA program. HR were very good to me and I did not have to pay for those last two classes even though I was technically no longer working there. I have been fortunate thus far, but I suspect they only were so kind because they knew I would not walk away quietly from the situation if they had not. My boss was a discriminatory, deprecating, critical, condescending jerk who already had one lawsuit against him at the time of my decision to leave….they really could not afford any more negative attention towards him. So, it is now that I’m seriously seeking employment and if I’m honest (as I always am in this diary), having had this long term vacation has been SUPER. The complacency is setting in however, and I’m growing a bit frightened with how much I’m enjoying it. So, back to work it is…hopefully.

Additionally, two months before my termination, I moved into a very spacious apartment. That much I shared in my last few entries. I’ve been here a total of 8 months now and love it just as I did on day one. I have two and a half bedrooms that I used as mine, my nieces, and my nephews bedrooms for when they stay or I have guests. I do believe I will soon be cutting it down to one extra bedroom as I am beginning to need the extra storage space and their visits are not as frequent as I’d hoped they’d become having their own place to stay.

Needless to say, I did host my very first thanksgiving dinner and also cooked my first turkey. It was a total success which prompted me to have a full on cocktail party for my theater friends! Get a group of musically and dramatically inclined individuals together and a good time is guaranteed. This party will connect to later entries that I don’t have the energy to write now.  The party took place a week before Christmas. The holidays were absolutely fantastic. I spent time with every person that means the world to me on the day leading up to and the days of Christmas and New Years. I hosted a few people on Christmas day, which included LaLa (more to come).  I’ve become quite fond and good at the hosting thing. Having the proper space certainly does help! 

Now I am preparing for two surprise parties that will take place on the same day, this upcoming Saturday. From 12-3pm is my mothers Surprise 60th Bday Brunch. She has no clue that I’ve arranged for all of her good friends (even those she has not seen in way too long) and her brothers and sisters too! Later that evening from 6 to overnight will be my older nieces surprise 10th slumber party whose theme is Candyland Glamour! Thus, I am QUITE busy this week preparing and organizing and staying focused. Wish me luck!

It’s not very interesting, but it’s an update and I simply MUST stick to writing. I have to gain back the literary momentum. Boy did I lose it! 

Here is to hoping I get some future entries up soon!

Much Love Always, 
The Long Lost Rose 

Log in to write a note