I Am Number 830

I began writing my diary on Open Diary on November 20, 1998.  I am the 830th diary here on this site that houses over 411,000 online diaries.  I did move to OD+ when it was first introduced and kept it for maybe six months.  I didn’t really see the benefits and let that account go, back to free. 

Until a few years ago, I wrote here very day and read my friends’ thoughts daily as well.  I rarely visited diaries beyond the daily updates unless I had missed them for a bit.  Today I had four papers left to grade and that true gift of procrastination hit.  I thought I would re-read my diary from the beginning. 

I could only get through the first page of entries.  I mean I didn’t write tiny five word entries and I eventually had to get up to pee…attention shifted to the dog needing a walk…now an hour later and my interest in procrastinating with old diaries has dissipated.  So instead I decided to write an entry!

I am so creative with my procrastination.

The thing I found most heartening and sad about looking at the past are all the friends I had who are now lost.  Lost as in gone away who knows where.  Fortunately in my life are still a few wonderful diarists that were with me from the beginning, like Brit and Jeanne and Living Lightly (Linda Kay) and no14me (BBe) and Jacqui and Od for Dummies.  But I wonder where have the other ones gone?  Where is PUCK and ritsu and Edward and PYRA and BlueEyes and Trooper and Griffin and all those others?

One of the things about online friends is we often never know what happens to them.  When I first started chatting online, I made up an emergency list of contacts for my closest friend Scott to send out if anything happened to me.  Just so that people would know.  I figured that the people I had him contact would let those less close to me know.  And alas, most of those friends have disappeared.  And now I have more friends from more areas online…and I’ll bet half of those have disappeared since.

There are many people I have met over the years online who have remained within my life, just as there are many who I have met through work and neighborhoods and just living who have remained within my life.  But those others…I just wonder and worry about them sometimes.

Now what can I do to continue my procrastination?  Oh!  The bathroom needs cleaning…

Stay in touch!
peace~~~

Log in to write a note

*waves* me!me!me! Miss you! ryn: and someone RC’d the thing. Oy.

April 17, 2013
April 17, 2013

That “Stay in touch” goes for you also. I’ve been here not as long as you, but internet friends date back to October 2000. One of those is still current. I update my Contact List (email) with my Sister once a year as practice or more often, if needed. It’s due again in May. Birthday month makes it easier to remember to do it. Like you, I have lost many online friends to the “disappearance factor,” but I do have four deceased OD friends still in my bookmarks. Others, “quien sabe?” I am a firm believer in contact lists. Be well.

April 17, 2013

I agree with your thoughts about how folks come and go in our web/personal lives. I too think of some I had daily communication with here OD that just completely disappreard. More distubing is the entries leading up to their disappearance revealed no major changes or concerns, but poof, they’re gone. I hope they are well.

April 17, 2013

You’ve been here for me. Always with a smile,a snoopy dance and a virtual hug 🙂 Thanks for that my dear friend!!

April 17, 2013

I am glad you’re still here. Peace. Signed, Diarist #5. 🙂

April 18, 2013

I think I was 98 in the former life Sophist dearest, and yes so many people, so many memories, I miss them too, but we are still here, just some of us are not talking as much as we used to, perhaps that is what needs to change 🙂 Still love you

April 18, 2013

I’m still here 🙂

BBe
April 19, 2013

#350 thanks you for remembering her. 😉 I’m glad we still have this place to peek in and say hello. You’re one of my favorite reasons to do that. I’ve thought about a few of the old friends too and Ritsu would top my list. She was a gem.

May 15, 2013

Me too! Had to change my name when I came back, someone else decided to be Jovanna, ha! But, here I am!!! J