many christmases later

[]

 

 

 

 so…

 

friday–my mom watched sawyer (as planned–i guess i wasn’t clear about that) and dennis & i both went out with friends (he on the annual guys’ christmas get-together and i to a movie.) the movie was long and started out slow but i liked it. not only did it have the romantic, i’m falling in love aspect, but it also portrayed a woman making friends with men and becoming stronger in the process. she went from "best friend" to "leading lady." so, it wasn’t cheesy or entirely predictable but if you want constant excitement and fast-moving action, don’t see this one! it’s almost british in its pace–i find british shows to be calm and slower paced than our shows are. we demand to be entertained a bit too much, i suppose.

 

i still had eye gunk and was coughing like mad, which made me regret leaving the house, but i made it through the movie, enjoyed it, and i even came up with the idea to surprise the guys at their party. we (myself and the 2 other girls i went with) bought 20 tacos at taco bell and delivered them to the party. they were very happy to see me walk in with tacos (my other 2 friends elected to wait in the truck); what’s better than taco bell at 1 a.m.? (and what’s better than the love of ten or so men?)

 

on saturday, dennis took me to the hospital to get checked out. after a 3 hour wait (they had several people come in ambulances, several already waiting, and several on the go already), i found out the obvious–i had an eye infection (not a sty or pink eye) and a throat infection. i was given prescriptions and on my way. while waiting for my prescriptions at the real canadian superstore, i bought a few necessities (cat food) and another present for sawyer (sesame street shape sorter.)

 

we got ready (quickly) and were off to dennis’s parents’ house for a party (for his dad’s side.) i was feeling pretty ill as the night went by so we went home fairly early. we watched some keeping up appearances and then went to bed.

on sunday, we were off again to dennis’s parents’ (we always go there on christmas eve.) snacks, presents for the kids, church, more presents (i got a really pretty circle of friends candle holder from BIL and we got a framed pic & $50 from dennis’s parents), and another late night for us. *sighs*

 

monday–we opened stockings with sawyer in our bed and played for a while with peek-a-blocks and crayons before going downstairs for presents. sawyer became an expert at opening presents by the end of all that (he tried opening our nephews’ present–a game for the two of them–the next day.) we got him a peek-a-blocks barn, a wheel pals train set, a wooden train set (it was a good deal but too old for sawyer so i put it away), a bath toy, an airplane toy, sesame street shapes sorter, sippy cups, and i think that’s all…?

 

two of the shirts i got dennis were a bit snug so i have to try and exchange them tonight.

 

dennis got me the vest thingy from old navy that i wanted

  

he also got me 2 scarves (one a headband really), 2 CDs, the ballet flats i wanted (he really surprised me–i didn’t think he was paying attention when i showed him my cousin’s ballet flats and said i wanted them but he was!), chocolate, a camera case, a comic book (i know, i know–what a kid i am), and a big framed picture of the three of us….i think that’s everything.

for lunch, we went to my parents’ house. sawyer got to open more presents (all thomas the tank engine–he LOVES the fleece blanket he got) and so did we! my mom got me a bubbling foot spa (for my poor aching heel spur), seashell chocolates (my fave), a lotion/soap/body butter set we’d looked at and liked once when we were out, and a framed picture of sawyer.

we went home and watched movies once we were done visiting at my parents’. during pirates of the caribbean (2), i started to feel sick and i ended up throwing up. ugh. it was a side effect of the antibiotics i’m on…at least, that’s what we assumed and my sister (a nurse) affirmed. i haven’t been on this particular antibiotic before and she said it would be really strong for me because of that. this can cause stomach upset and related issues.

yesterday, we had dennis’s parents over to look at our tree and sawyer’s presents and then, after sawyer had a nap, we were off to my sister’s house. she had all the makings of supper and presents for us (this is a new thing–we haven’t had a present from her for years. they suddenly have money now that my BIL is collecting E.I. and my sister is working more.) sawyer got a megablocks farm, which he likes. dennis got scratch tickets and a puzzle book and i got a "princess" pillow and blanket and journal set. it is too young for me (i was into that stuff when i was in high school, early uni) but oh well. still nice. sawyer likes it (haha don’t tell dennis that sawyer’s laying on my princess blanket and pillow drinking his bottle right now) and it’s better than nothing! we got chocolates too. i wasn’t feeling the best but i had some supper and visited a bit before going home.

tonight, my mom and i are going to do some birthday shopping. i have to buy decorations and whatnot for sawyer’s party and we have to exchange a couple things for dennis and sawyer (doubles.) sawyer is not leaving this house (if we can manage it) until saturday. he has to get better. he’s coughing and snotty and he needs to rest. i think he and daddy will have fun together while mommy goes out. they have lots of new toys to play with. if they want to, they even have 3 story books and audio CD containing 9 stories that they can entertain themselves with. my mom got that for sawyer and i think it’ll be good for car trips when he’s older.

it really stinks that sawyer and i were ill for his first christmas. i really was excited about this one. oh well, it was still enjoyable…sort of…and sawyer did have fun. he’s worn out and needs lots of rest in the next few days. i am too but i have things to do. no rest for the wicked. 😉 i seem to be getting better by the day; i’m hopeful.

if you read all that, i appreciate it. 🙂 i’ll post pics sometime soon.

***

Log in to write a note
December 27, 2006

Awww poor Sawyer! Being sick on Christmas is no fun. I love that vest! So cute! I’m a plus sized gal and we don’t look too cute in vests LOL

December 27, 2006

RYN: Yeah I have always heard “Early talker, late walker” and “Early walker, late talker” I’m not worried yet. If she’s not walking in a few months, then I’ll be worried LOL 9 movies is way too much LOL She can barely sit still for an episode of Baby Einstein or even Blues Clues! (What are they like, 20 minutes??)

December 27, 2006

I love that vest. :o)

December 27, 2006

Ryn: I should have clarified. Yes, if the baby can hold their own bottle, they can feed themselves. But this is a BRAND SPANKING NEW BABY. He’s not even 8 months old (I’m not sure where they got that from) But yeah. She’s been doing it since the day he was born.

December 27, 2006

sorry you’re sick. that seems to be a tradition around here. Grace has been sick for all 3 of her christmas’ and Cameron sick for both of his. And Kim and Dean sick for them as well. (Kim and dean are Grace and Cameron’s parents. lol) And yeah. My parents have been sick the last 2 chirstmas’ in a row. I’m not “sick” I have a cold and some phlegm but not enough to keep me sick in bed or anything. Iusually get super sick in January. That’s usually my “get sick and die” month. I always get some kind of bronchitis or respiratory infection

AW I hope you and Sawyer get better soon!! And I did read it all btw! Glad you had fun w/ ur friends. Tacos sounds good right about now. lol. And it sounds like you got nice things for Christmas!! And it seems like Sawyer enjoyed himself as well!! He’ll have a ball at his birthday party! TTYL

December 27, 2006

RYN: That blue fuzzy thing is a “monster chair” haha. Actually, it’s a dog but it looks more like a monster to me. heh. My FIL made Spencer’s toy box. It’s nothing fancy but it’s BIG and he can open it alone. It’s white with colored abc letters. Eh. Off to read the entry!

December 27, 2006

hehe i read it all 🙂 im glad you got to get a script for your infections hope you get to feeling 100tter real soon.

Thanks for all the notes. And yes I know I’m only 20 and not much older then my sister, but having a husband and a child makes me feel ancient and my sister acts like she’s 15 again. We’ve decided on not inviting them the next time around. lol. The one 17 yr old, Lex, acts older then my 19 yr old sister. And it is truely amazing watching them. i loved every minute of it! TTYL!

Being sick on Christmas blows, I’m sorry you guys are sick:( Feel better soon though!!!!!!! I’m thinking about ya, warm chicken noodle thoughts:)

OHH I think she got the blues clues doll from Walmart. I’m not sure where I could tell you to go to find little figurines of blues clues. That stuff isn’t around much. Good Luck finding it tho. Do you have a Toys R Us up there? Or any toy store?? I would check there if you haven’t already

December 27, 2006

i just eyeballed some seashell chocolates this afternoon when i was out shopping. they looked tasty! im glad you all got a lot of stuff this year. i want a foot spa, i’m jealoussssssssssssssssss. re: i didn’t warn anyone i was changing my hair color, it was a spur of the moment thing i did at 11 last night. i was up until 1 am doing my hair haha.

December 27, 2006

sounds like a good Christmas! and that was sweet of you to deliver the tacos to the guys 😉 I’m sorry you have an eye and throat infection! poor you! 🙁 Get better soon!

December 27, 2006

re: i’m going to get some of that cat away spray, and put it on the mattress. i’ve informed john that i’m going to make his cat learn to obey commands. he’s not a stupid cat, they just spoil him and he’s allowed to lay wherever he wants to. that’s not gonna fly with me. i don’t want him laying on the desk, and he also walks on the counters in the kitchen, which i don’t like either. i’ve tried to get john to buy him a cat bed, because i don’t want him sleeping with us. he swears the cat won’t lay in it. but i’m going to get one anyways and force the cat to sleep there. or anytime he hops up in the bed, i’m going to shoo him off. i really don’t want him hanging out in the room, period. but we’ll see how far i can push him before he get annoyed with me. (john annoyed with me pushing the cat, that is, lol)

December 27, 2006

After weeks (months?) of seeing you on the boards, I thought I’d drop by here and say hi. 🙂 BTW… my husband LOVES Keeping Up Appearances. Discovered it when he was visiting friends in the UK. Now and then he convinces me to watch it on BBC America with him. 🙂 Feel better – you AND the baby!

December 27, 2006

Yay that you are going better, but that sucks that you got The Ick as we call it in our house. I heart that vest too, but for me, anything with fur, I’m a nut.

December 27, 2006

I did.. I read it all. Glad you found out what your health problems were and got medicine for it. Sounds like you all made out with the presents… and who doesn’t love Tacos??? I would love you too if you came walking through my door!!

December 27, 2006

That vest is so cute! And I hope everyone gets better ASAP!

December 27, 2006

awe – being sick over xmas sucks 🙁 sounds like an alright holiday all things considered though :/ aren’t you the fave wife now – tacos for the guys was a nice idea 🙂

December 28, 2006

see how much better life goes when you just shut up and obey your husband? 😛 this entry was hard to read, I hardly had any pictures to look at. go figure then, thomas the tank engine is my favorite book to read too. We had a TV show here in the states called “Shining Time Station” which featured Thomas along with some talented children’s actors, you should try to find it for sawyer.

December 28, 2006

ryn: Nope, we ordered a box of bullets as well.

December 28, 2006

Sorry to hear you were stuck being sick for the holiday. Glad you managed to still have fun & enjoy yourself though!

December 28, 2006

I did read it all LOL I hope you feel better and you are gonna LOOOOOOOVE your bubbling foot spa! Seriously! I have one (that MY mom gave ME!) and it’s the greatest 😀 kristen

Thanks for your note. Sorry I have not been posting on boards much the past few weeks. I haven’t really had much to say on boards.

i read all of it…days later but still. i know you read all of mine and i enjoy reading yours. your family sure does like to give framed pictures as presents. i’ve never received one. and you got a lot of chocolates! it sounds like you guys had a nice christmas full of giving (and getting) and closeness of family. i’m sorry you guys are sick, or were at this point you are prolly better. i hope.