Her soul doth glitter

Walking around my apartment in a sweatshirt with no pants and stirring Metamucil into my hot chocolate. Welcome to my Friday night.

I’m thankful to say I’m exhausted from a week of work. WORK! YOU READ THAT RIGHT!

UPS had the wisdom and foresight to hire me as a seasonal driver’s helper. The work is exhausting and the pay is pennies, but I’m having a blast. I’m covered in bruises, which makes me smile. It is one of my favorite states of being. A sure sign of living. I come home and immediately jump into the shower because I’m covered in grime. Sweat and dirt and black marks that I can never identify, though they show up daily. My driver is a ton of fun. 25-years-old, Nah hails from West Africa. He has been in the US for 7 years, working for UPS for 6, driving for 2. He showers me in appraisal daily and tells the bosses that his helper is the best, a claim that is backed up by my numbers. I average about 20 deliveries an hour.

One of today’s deliveries was the monster of them all. Sixteen odd-shaped packages, all weighing in at about 50 pounds. The load was challenge enough, but we had to deliver them to a house that sits atop an incredibly steep driveway and a winding staircase. I started taking them up, one by one, as my driver stayed at the truck and scanned them all into the system. By the time we got to one that was a team lift I had to talk him into carrying it on our shoulders. My arms were shot. It was long and appeared to be a rolled up rug. As we picked it up my soul glittered. I was putting my power lifting practice to use! In the real world!!! I squatted down in proper deadlift posture. I brought my end of the rug up, powering through my glutes and keeping my weight in my heels. I paused for a beat then did a swift clean and jerk to haul the weight up onto my shoulder.

I love lifting. I’m such a chicken shit, though. I won’t lift without a trainer. Or without a workout buddy at the very least. Without someone to help me focus, I feel the eyes of the bodybuilders around me judging me, correcting my form and mocking the paltry numbers I’m able to pull. When I lift with Joey none of that matters. The rest of the world blurs and I’m able to focus. Without him the raging paranoia steps in.

How did I lose track of my point?

I’m thrilled to report that not only have I just completed a week of work with UPS, but this afternoon I was also notified that I got a part-time admin job with a local personal trainer. Neither UPS nor this admin gig will pay all the bills. Even with the two combined I still come up short. But!!!! Momentum is building!! Things are moving in the right direction and I remain ever hopeful.

As if all this glittery work stuff wasn’t enough, I got to meet in the flesh an internet personality on whom I’ve been mad crushing for a year. Our lives are in similar states of tumult and it was grand being able to pass the time with him. I highly doubt he has any idea how much his intelligence and life experience intimidate me.

Typing and deleting, typing and deleting. There is more to say about him, but I am still processing.

Log in to write a note

Process away! This entry is full of marvelous. 🙂

December 7, 2012

I am.super.excited and relieved.for.you!!! Something.is better than.nothing!

December 7, 2012

Congrats on the jobs! Good thing you’ve got some lifting experience, i’d probably die!

December 7, 2012

Yeah!!

RYN .. OMG back. I have been off of OD for a long time. I don’t know if you know, but I got married to someone I met on OD and well I screwed that up and am now divorced, although we are still good friends and she is still on OD here. Kinda different but we read each others diaries daily. I really think it is so cool to reconnect with people I used to note here on OD. I will be sure to bookmark

your diary and check it often. Feel free to leave me notes if you so choose. The thing that you will see is I am not a pervert like I used to be (guess what do you expect with a title like “Sex For One”)My new diary is much more calm as well I have finally grown up somewhat.

December 7, 2012

YAY!!!!!!!!!!!!! Good job on the getting a job! hahaha Hopefully they’ll keep you longer! Let’s hope your driver talks you up up UP!!!!! SO proud of you on both jobs! Good work! *HUGS*

December 8, 2012

I’m sitting here in a nightshirt with no undies guzzling coffee at 5:30 am on a saturday morning..so I guess that shows how my friday night went lol

December 8, 2012

ryn: I never woulda believed it! I can’t believe he grew on me that way…lol

December 8, 2012

Glad to see you’re doing well and things are looking up. Can’t wait to hear more….

December 8, 2012

Yay! I don’t suppose you’re delivering in Venice, are you? I have a bunch of crap coming almost daily from UPS and may have met you if so!

December 11, 2012

Congradulations on the job, girl! Glad yo enjoy it. 🙂

December 11, 2012
December 12, 2012

Much love – hope your holidays are warm and safe. <3

December 12, 2012

yay!!!

December 15, 2012

I’m a little jealous of your holiday job! Go girl!!

December 15, 2012

Gonna build muscles in places many people don’t even have places. RYN: I saw the Yoda first. The Vader I needed to look at for a while.

OK, I’m starting with this entry…It says so much in your words what ‘physical job well-done’ does for you. Don’t lose track of this fact.