So I fail at writing in my OD

Hi everyone…. Wondering if there are still any loyal friends who might take a gander at my OD. Probably not, but since I have a lot going on right now, I just need a forum to vent and get it all out.

Aiden, who is now a little over 2, is doing awesome! He’s growing and developing and just all around a great kid. He’s not even doing too bad for being 2. He listens about 90% of the time, and he’s generally a happy little guy.

Chris is still out of work, and he’s pretty much accepted the fact that he’s going to stay at home until Aiden starts school. I love having him home with our little guy because I don’t have to worry about trusting someone else to raise our son. It’s generally a positive thing.

As for me, work is and has been interesting for quite some time. Last July (’09) BehaviorCorp merged with another community mental health center in Anderson (CMH), and we became Aspire Indiana Behavioral Health Systems. With the economy being as it has been, everyone figured this was a smart move because both organizations were very strong and doing fairly well financially. Then the federal government comes in and says they are completely reconfiguring our main payer source, Medicaid Rehabilitation Option. At the same time, the state decides to cut our budget by 2 or 3%, so we are in one heck of a bind. Our company had to make $2.5 million in cuts right after the merger in order to be able to sustain, and that means people losing jobs and having benefits cut.

For me, I got out pretty fortunate. I’m going from part time to full time, and I’m getting a slight raise, but as of next week, I will be the ONLY staff interpreter in the office. We did have 4 part-time interpreters. Hence the raise… and a promotion of sorts…

So life is about to get interesting, and I’m glad and very fortunate to still have a job. I’m a little frustrated as to how things are being handled around the office, and I had a very long chat with my (soon to be) new boss (my current boss’ boss). I told her that morale in our office is at an all-time low, and I told her that communication is breaking down and that important information doesn’t seem to be filtering down like it should be. I didn’t throw my boss under the bus, but I made it clear that things aren’t happening that, in my opinion, should be happening, and that seemed to get through to her. Everyone is under a lot of stress and pressure right now, and everything is so overwhelming, but for now I hope all goes well.

That’s pretty much what’s been going on with us.

Log in to write a note
May 25, 2010

LOL…I forgot that you even had OD. I’m glad to hear that you still have a job, and that you even get more hours and a pay raise.