Wonderful Work

So life has a funny way of making things work out, but it isn’t always an easy journey to get there. I started my new job this week at the office. I went from being a part time staff interpreter (20 hours a week) to being a full time staff interpreter/interpreter supervisor. It’s been a rocky start at best, but I’m definitely hanging in there. My confidence is growing every day I walk through the doors, and with every faulter, I’m trying to adjust and do better the next time.

My week started on Tuesday coming in the office to find that staff had already started moving their stuff into my (at the time) office. We had talked about rearranging offices once things were set in stone, but I only half expected them to have started at 7:30 after a long holiday weekend. We got stuff moved to my new office, and they got their new offices all set up and decorated. I only had a few small decorations for my office, but since I won’t have clients coming in and out, I plan on buying my own art to hang up instead of using what the company has provided.

One small issue I may run into with decorating my office is that I share it with 2 other (on call) interpreters. One is pretty easy going and laid back when it comes to how I decorate it, but I’m afraid the other woman will take up issue and/or offence if I put up anything related to a religion/spriritual belief other than a Christian one. I am not Christian and am wanting to get a Buddah statue and/or pictures of Kwan Yin to hang up. I’m also wanting to set up a small area to be a bit of a sanctuary of peace and positive thought (zen garden, labrynth, bonsai tree, etc), so I’m waiting to go gung ho until I talk with her. It’s technically my office, and when we shared the other office she had Bible scriptures and the such hanging about, but my intent is not to offend, so I’m making an effort to talk before acting.

Other than the few small issues that have come up from time to time, things are going mostly well. I’m trying to keep a very positive outlook on things, and I have a couple friends who are trying to help me stay positive. I just hope that next week goes a bit smoother than this one.

Log in to write a note