Weaning and other things

Well, I am finally taking steps to wean Aiden from nursing. It’s been a pretty tough week, and I’m pretty emotionally drained, but we are working on it. The past 2 nights I’ve been able to rock him and read him a book before laying him in the crib and rubbing his back until he is nearly asleep. It’s been hard giving up that part of our bonding time, but I think I’m ready for it. It’s been 2 years, 3 1/2 months of nursing, and I’m ready to have my body back. Aiden didn’t do well the first few nights, but neither did I. Chris rocked him and put him to bed and just let him cry it out because there wasn’t anything else he could do. One night it got so bad that I had to go sit on the porch because I couldn’t stand hearing him cry out for me. It is breaking my heart, but it is time.

On another note, Chris and I have talked, and we are going to have to get rid of all 3 of our pets. We have an older sheltie who is losing her sight and her hearing, and she isn’t very good with children. We are hoping to find a home for her, and if we can’t we are going to contact our local sheltie rescue. I already got the website, email, and contact name for that organization. We also have two male cats who have lived inside all of their lives but who have not been declawed. I really think they would make great barn cats as they are good mousers and both seem to want to dart outside any chance they get. If you happen to know of someone who might be interested in them, please PLEASE let me know. We are at the point financially that we can’t give them the care and time and affection that they need, and they are all 3 acting out by distroying things and causing undue stress around the house.

In other news, I’m on my 2nd week of being full time at the office, and while things are crazy busy and somewhat stressful, I feel I’m handling it all pretty well. I got a nice little zen area set up in the corner next to my desk with a bonsai tree, a couple buddha statues, a labrynth, and a homemade zen garden, so I have my little piece of paradise for when I’m having a bad day.

Log in to write a note