It has been a hell of a week!

I want to start out by saying THANK GODDESS IT IS FRIDAY!!! This past week has been one of the worst I’ve had in a very long time. Monday started out pretty good, actually. Chris got Aiden’s room all picked up and rearranged, and it can now be a play/bedroom. Yay for that! He also got our bedroom semi-picked up and vacuumed. Then it all went downhill. Chris had a really bad reaction to finding fleas in the basement, and I ended up having to come home from work early to help with Aiden and to help get him calmed down.

I ended up missing work on Tuesday after the flea bomb Monday night didn’t do anything. We called Terminex, and they came out Wednesday evening, so we did some MAJOR deep cleaning over the WHOLE house Tuesday to prepare for them coming out. We also gave the kitties a new home on Tuesday. 🙁 I cried and cried and cried the whole day even though I know they are in a good home. Our friend Kim took them both in, and I can’t thank her enough for that. I posted that morning on facebook that we needed them gone ASAP, and she picked them up that evening. We also contacted a local sheltie rescue, and they are coming out next week to evaluate and place Mindi in a good foster/permanent home (not sure which yet).

I ended up going into work late on Wednesday so I could help Chris finish up a few last-minute things with cleaning and get things squared away at home. We spent most of Wednesday evening at my grandparents’ house because we couldn’t go home until 9:30 that night (4 hours after Terminex came to treat the house).

Thursday was mostly uneventful, though I was really busy at work, and as a result, my tendonitis really got to bothering me (more on that later).

And now today is Friday!!! Yay!!! Today I’m at work, and Chris is working on packing for our weekend trip out of town. Tonight Chris is going to FNM at the Danger Room, and Aiden and I are going to a birthday party/4th of July celebration at my aunt’s house. Then Saturday morning we are going AWAY for the holiday weekend. MIL is going to come down and take care of Mindi (let her out, feed her, give her attention, etc.), and we are going to be boating, swimming, and just enjoying time with friends and family. We really REALLY need it!

Now… as for my tenonitis… I went to the doctor last Friday, and my (new) doctor basically told me that I need to stop using my thumb. YES, she knows I’m an ASL interpreter. YES, she knows that I’m the breadwinner and the only one bringing in income into our home. But she said I need to stop using it. When I told her I couldn’t do that, she suggested physical therapy. Upon hearing that I work in Indy and that I would need to be set up in Indy for it, she prescribed me pain pills instead and told me to just take those for awhile. If I can’t get her to set me up for PT in Indy soon, I am going to look into switching doctors. I have to be able to work (I don’t have enough time off available to leave work for a few weeks), but I also have to be able to use my hands to work.

So it’s been a pretty crappy week! TGIF! Hope you all have a lovely weekend!!

~Jess

Log in to write a note