[4] Day One

I can’t believe I’m here! That’s what I have been saying over and over ever since I got to California. It’s been so awesome!

Well, I’ve put off updating and now I’m on my fifth day of vacation. I’ve decided to write an entry per day so the entries don’t get too long and kill me.

Getting here has proven to be the hardest part. Wednesday night I drove down to SuFu from Brookings at around sevenish. I missed One Tree Hill, dammit. I need to watch that soon.

Anyway, I went home and hung out with my mom for awhile and then Ellen came and picked me up. After dropping my sister off at church and buying a brand new deck of cards, we headed to the Pan. We sat there for, oh, five hours before we realized that we had to be at my house by seven for breakfast.

We went back to her house and crashed. Three hours later we woke up and had a scrumptious breakfast, curtesy of my mother. After that we bummed around until it was time four hair cuts! I really liked mine while I was at the salon, but when I tried to do my hair again, it looked a little… mullet-y. I’m very concerned, but there is nothing I can do about it now, so I’m just wearing it up every day. C’est la vie, no?

So after that we headed to the airport. I got my boarding pass and all that stuff. My flight was scheduled to leave at 2:39p and it was only a bit after one. So we hung out in the (totally over priced) cafe and ate.

I’ll spare the boring details, but my flight got delayed. A lot. The last I checked it was boarding at 6:25p. So to avoid further delays, I got my ticket changed so I would fly into Denver instead. I took off at 6:55p as scheduled. Tiny planes are not my favorite.

Two hour layover in Denver, more boring details.

When I finally got here I was dead tired and my feet were aching due to the ridiculously uncomfortable shoes I was wearing.

So needless to say, I didn’t do a whole lot the first night besides moan about my feet and sleep.

I will write more later. As it turns out, the day has escaped me and I need to shower!

Log in to write a note
Esb
March 6, 2006

oh kate, how i miss you. i’m glad you are having a fun time in california!! crazy… you are going to have to tell me all about it when you get home, and mel will fix your hair, don’t worry. but yes, i miss you much and i’m stoked to see ya updating! 😉

Esb
March 13, 2006

yea the comment thing is a bit strange to get used to, but hm. it’s not horrible? haha, i miss you and i think you need to update and i cannot wait to road trip next wednesday!! love you babe.

Esb
July 1, 2008

man, we used to play rummy A LOT. what gives?