Gone but still here

oh god it’s been ages again since I wrote. I’m so bad at this. I will try to get into better habits of writing. Life is fine, pretty standard, just ticking along. The kids are off school for the summer which is great for me – one less thing to think about. Especially with Liam’s school anxiety- it takes the pressure off a bit. I am annoyed though because we are supposed to be getting this support woman for him, but they just keep messing us around. I sent an email chasing it last week but have not heard anything yet. Very frustrating. I need some guidance if what to do with him next year (as in September). My sister, who is a teacher, is visiting in a week’s time, so I will probably talk to her about it.

in other news, mum is a nightmare. She has Parkinson’s dementia and it’s just so hard to deal with. She’s like a toddler and I don’t mean that disrespectfully, it’s just the truth. She’s so incredibly anxious and needy all the time. Her newest thing is to call 999 late at night. This leads to an ambulance going to her house, but there is nothing wrong with her. Then one of us (me and my siblings ) gets called about it, in the middle of the night. She’s done it 3 times this week. It’s getting more regular. They called me at 2am Weds morning. They couldn’t get into her house. I gave them the code and they went in, and she was sound asleep in bed! It’s ridiculous. They checked her over and she was fine. I could hear her shouting “help help”, which is heartbreaking but pretty standard when she gets like that. My sister is waiting for someone to call her back about possibly getting a night carer for mum. So we shall see. But we can’t go on like this.  It’s really hard to deal with. My mum used to be my best friend. It’s devastating watching her lose her mind. It’s like she’s already gone…but yet she’s still here. It’s only going to get worse and I’m dreading it. Sometimes I think it would be better if she died. Then I feel guilty for thinking that. It’s a cruel disease and it makes me scared for my own old age. I guess I can’t think that way.

 

Log in to write a note
July 31, 2022

Don’t feel guilty. I think anyone in your situation would be feeling the same way.

July 31, 2022

@mrroflcopter

 

thank you – I appreciate your kind words

July 31, 2022

Experienced a version of this with each parent. The lucid moments made the other ones tricky. It’s tough, you know the only way to have the circus end is to give up something you love. No fair answer. A home care provider helps a great deal.

July 31, 2022

That sounds incredibly challenging. Give yourself some grace. There are no easy feelings with things like this unfortunately

July 31, 2022

I think it’s completely understandable to feel that way, and likely very common, as for anyone watching a loved one go in a devastating way.  You only say it out of deep love and sympathy for her.  It does sound like she needs someone to be with her at night, I hope you’re able to find someone to help her.  I hope that you and your siblings all have good support as well.  What you’re doing isn’t easy at all.