So I’m still here.

 Because I haven’t had an opportunity to really think about it yet.  Work was busy this week and I didn’t get a chance to play with  my new camera until yesterday beyond turning it on.  It does take fabulous low light photos without the flash.  I just need to memorize what sort of setting I used where the red light doesn’t project onto the wall or whatever I’m trying to capture.  It’s there, I just keep getting mixed up. But I think it will be nice for fireworks and dark rides and shows so I can capture Vivien’s reaction and some other lovely Disney stuff without disturbing everyone around us.  Also the flash on really can disrupt the Disney theming. There’s a reason it’s dark, lol.

Here’s a photo of my messy living room.  I think the flash was on for this one:

Now. If you look behind the easel you’ll see the front of a play mailbox.  It’s blue and yellow.  Can’t see it?  How about now:

BOOM.  I zoomed in all the way.  The grid behind the mailbox is actually the solar screen on the window. But yeah, pretty happy with this photo since all I did was zoom then hit the shutter button.

I think I’ll like this camera. I remember to take it out of the bag this morning and grabbed a few pictures
of Vivien this morning.  I’ve been keeping it on the "Smart Auto" setting for the most part.  I bought this book:


Or a version of it. I got the Kindle version and I don’t feel like going to check.  Anyways, some good tips in there. Also lots of info on how to select a camera.  Once I’m ready to upgrade again in a few years, likely to a DSLR I’ll buy a new copy of this book I think-but probably the one geared to DSLR.  Anyways…so far it’s been helpful in confirming that I made the right choice by not shelling out for higher MP count and going for one with increased zoom and better low light capabilities.  Disney aside I often hate the way flashes can make a photo look.

So I’ve got that to play with for the next month or so until Disney. The advantage of having it on Kindle is that I’ll be able to access it anywhere-say I have trouble in the parks one day I can come back, review at night and not make the same mistakes. 

Damn I love that Kindle.

As far as Disney goes…these finally came this week:

For those who aren’t Disney freaks like me…these are Magic Bands.  They are replacing the old "Keys to the Kingdom" cards that Disney resort guests used. The cards linked your room key, credit card and park tickets so it was handy. These take it one step further as you can customize colors, customize a profile with birthdays, anniversaries, and even a favorite character. They’re RFID enabled so you just scan them at various places to make them work. For example you can scan them to get in line to meet Mickey Mouse (who can TALK now!) and once up there Mickey knows your name and if it’s your Birthday he’ll say something about it! Fun! The big change is that they’ve updated the FastPass system. With these I’m able to log in NOW and get FastPasses for our trip in a month.  Nice!  What’s got some people’s panties in a bunch is that they can only reseve 3 a day, and it’s very likely that they’ll be removing the old fashioned FastPass kiosks which work with the regular paper tickets and the Keys to The Kingdom cards.  Since we’ll also be issued cards when we check in right now we can get our 3 a day with this, and up to 5 with the cards.  Now I’ve never really liked the Fastpass system because I think you can do better time wise if you get there early and stay ahead of the crowds. Thats what I’ve always done and it’s worked fantastically for us.  I have selected our 3 rides per day so we’ll see!  My other beef with Fastpass is that every time I’ve used it I’ve had to wait in line longer than 30 min anyways so I don’t get the attraction.

I bought Vivien quite a few Disney shirts thanks to some great promos and discounts there this week.  Bought new shoes for everyone, the camera and I think that’s all we’ll need so we’re all set.  I MAY get a new suitcase.  We only have one big one but I learned that the airline we’re flying on does not count strollers and car seats against you so they’ll be free to check (Southwest’s prices were high and not direct so we’re going another way and therefore have to pay for bags).  So we should be ok with 1 big bag and 3 smaller ones.  We also will have a carry on each-if it’s a backpack or smaller and fits under the seat that’s free too.  Apparently the airline we’re on has caught on to the jerks who stuff a weeks worth of clothes into a carry on to avoid paying for a checked bag. But I think we’re all set!  Finally.  Just staring at the clock/calendar now.

Oh!  I did break down and get an autograph book for Vivien. I stumbled across one on Etsy while looking a bow ideas for her and got this:

I rotated this not once, not twice but 3 times in Photobucket.  I’ve about had enough of that site too as it auto rotates all photos I take with my phone.  Anyways, it was $10.  It’s small enough to be a good size for Vivien and really cute.  We’ve got a few character meals (ok, one a day) so we’ll put it to good use.

And finally I am over at Prosebox. No entries yet, but I’m Suziannie there too.  I may cross post this one though.

Log in to write a note
November 12, 2013

You’ll have to share all the details of your trip. I’ll be curious what you think of getting autographs. We don’t usually but I’m considering getting them and working them into our scrapbook layouts from when we go in March. I looked into your camera. I’m also really curious how it will do on the dark rides. I ended up returning the one I chose because I was unhappy with the zoom so I’m still in the market for a new one. I like the price for the one you picked! Be sure to share some of your dark ride pics (please). Totally excited for your trip! Enjoy every magical moment!