The end?

Not sure why I’m coming back here to write.  I’m pretty sure most, if not all of my favorites have jumped over to Prosebox.  I’m signed up there but not writing there yet, so if you’re doing both sites let me know I’ll find you over there.  I may not write anymore. I’ve been thinking about switching to videos.  I just haven’t decided yet. But to be honest with  my new job I just don’t see me being able to keep up with it. So if you’re really interested in keeping up with me, leave a private note and I’ll add you on Facebook.  I’m fairly active on there.

Having said that….my new job is great.  I love the team I’m working with so far.  They’ve been very welcoming and so far great to work with.  I’ll start my third week next week and also get to go to a 3 day certification course so that will be fun.  My 4th week…my boss is heading to India for two weeks so I’ll be all alone.  Fun!! But I think it will be ok.

We’re counting down to Disney now that we’re nearly a month out.  I decided this weekend to do one last search for a killer airfare deal…and actually found one.  One that even included a rental car for under $500!  For three people!  Obviously we jumped on it and we’re flying now instead of driving.  The arrival puts us in later in the evening than I’d like.  But…we get an extra day out of it since the departing flight isn’t until 8:00 pm and we’ve both put in for vacation time to allow for a drive.  One more day for Disney!

I’ve been waiting for a long time for this trip and while Vivien is much too young to really remember it, I’m so looking forward to seeing her reaction to a few things. One came up this morning.  We were watching Tangled and she was completely drawn in by this scene:

Which had me a little excited because when they added the New Fantasyland they added this:

Which is actually a restroom/cell phone charging station but I think she’ll recognize it.  

I’m really looking forward to moving at a slower pace this year and I think that means not hitting up all the thrill rides.  Sure we’ll do some but we’ll have to do them as single riders and that’s ok, but I think it will be just one or two favorites and the rest of the time we’ll focus on what we can do together as a family.  It will be Christmas-y there so there’s a few extra things in store for us.  Photos with St Nicholas, Pere Noel & Father Christmas are just the start.  But wandering around slowly and taking it all in? So excited.  Especially because I bought this yesterday:

Anyways, I’d been eyeing a few DSLRs but the prices never seemed right, and the fact that I’m not entirely sure what to do with one just yet made me rethink it. This is like an upgrade from our last camera, which I’ve missed a lot since it broke. AND…it takes regular AA sized batteries. I ran into an issue last time we were in Disney where I forgot to charge the camera the night before so we only got photos up until about 2pm.  Being able to buy a pack of (fairly overpriced if we’re in a theme park) batteries is totally worth it to me I think. This one specializes in lower light shooting so that should be ideal for Disney I think and one of the reasons I was considering a DLSR in the first place-so I could take better photos without taking 15 in a row to capture whatever it is I want.

It should come today, I also got a bundle with it and got a tripod, case and lots of nifty toys to play with.  So I’ve just just over a month to figure it out.  We’ll be taking the laptop with it and apparently free wifi is abundant at Disney world now so expect me to be dumping photos on Facebook (maybe here too) as much as possible.

Officer is at Navy today…and he’ll get our tickets for Disney too.  Seriously this Military discount stuff is freaking amazing. 40% off our room, 50% off tickets!  I wouldn’t have been able to make this trip work without that pricing.

My Dad is dropping by tomorrow and he picked up one of these while in Tennessee earlier this week:

Which is a "real" country ham.  As in one you’ve got to scrub and soak and boil multiple times before you roast the thing. But I tell you it’s a wonderful thing to put in your belly!  We’ll have it for Thanksgiving or Christmas.  They keep for months at a time without being in the fridge so we’ll be able to do what we want with it.  

MMmm.

Anyways, lots to do today so I’m off. Hope someone is left around here to read this!

 

Log in to write a note
November 2, 2013

I am still here, though I am wondering if I should open an account over there, too… It is always fun to look forward to vacay!

November 3, 2013

I’ve got an account at Prosebox too but haven’t written anything yet….haven’t written over here in a bit either LOL That’s great you were able to find killer airfare and yay for an extra day at Disney!!!

November 4, 2013

I am over at prosebox. I cannot write an entry still. I am using the same name.. and I have been writing. xoxo

November 6, 2013

I’m totally excited about the Tangled bathroom area, too! There are supposed to be about 10 hidden Pasquales. The new camera is so pretty! What is the zoom on it? I recently tried a Cannon DSLR with an 18-55 but ended up taking it back. I’m not sure what my answer is but I’d love to hear more about yours. LOVE that it is red! I hope to stay here on OD but somedays it is harder than others. Do you use the DISboards? I have a ton of fun there. I’m scrpbookr there too if you have a profile.

Hope you make the move to PB – it is wonderful and I miss you! So excited your trip is coming up so soon. I remember seeing your counter on FB in the triple digits! You must be crawling with anticipation. 🙂