This won’t be long

I’m tired, sleepy even. I guess that 10 pm bedtime I was somehow set with at home with mom, stuck. I still get sleepy around that time. I pushed through though, because i had some homework to do and filled out my fasfa app for the next school year.

Anyway so about the move. It started off ok, S drove to Raleigh to fly here (was cheaper than leaving from Wilmington). He got there around 6:30 pm, he was going to rent a car, so he had one reserved. Well I had mom take me to the airport to meet him there (she dropped me off and went home). He wasn’t sure if i was coming or not, but he was pleasantly surprised to see me. So we head down to get his checked luggage, which took foreeeever. Finally we head to the car rental area. Well what we didn’t know at the time, was that they don’t allow debit cards. The reason behind that is annoying, but it took us 3 hours to really get anywhere. He called all over the place, starting with Travelocity since he booked through them. I tried to use my cc, but not enough was on it, so I had a payment to the card pushed through so I could use it for the rental. We ended up having to cancel that one, so I had to wait for my money to be refunded. He tried a diff place and was told he could use his debit card, but when he got to the counter he was met with a no. It was so damn stressful to deal with. Anyway thankfully he was able to get assistance from another car rental place at the very end. They took concern of his situation, and allowed him to rent the car with his debit card. Once things were set in place, we headed to the car and headed to mom’s to pick up my overnight bag and then check into the hotel. The following morning we headed to mom’s to pack the car with my things, then we were on our way. Somewhere around 5 we stopped in Knoxville, TN for the night. We headed back out Monday. When we finally got to Raleigh airport to return the car, we stopped to clean the car, then left the car near the return and took a shuttle to where his car was parked. After a bunch of walking around, we finally found where his car was and drove over to the rental car and transferred my things to his car. We returned the car, and we were on our way home. It was such a long drive, but it wasn’t a bad trip over all. I’m just glad we got past that car rental issue because that would have been disastrous.

As for how life is so far, pretty darn good. Still job searching. Already got my first no, but I won’t give up. I can’t afford to. I do at least have one more check coming, plus PTO. I hope it’s on one check, as my current check would only have 40 hrs on it, and we were paid bi-weekly. I have about 35 PTO hrs earned, so it should be fairly close to my normal check amt. I sure hope to find something that pays close to that and is full time. I’ll manage with school, but I need decent pay if I’m gonna survive here. If I can avoid a second job I will. If I can avoid a pt period, and just get full time, I will lol. So, we’ll see how life goes for me this time around.

Log in to write a note