Chest Pains

I’ve been having chest Pains lately on the left side. I’ve had issues with getting Costochondritis every year (sometimes a couple different times) for the past 7 years. It always starts off the same with little sharp needle pains. I don’t have to be doing anything really, and my chest will start to hurt. Over time the frequency, intensity, and duration increase. And I feel like I’m being poked with needles or stabbed. Well, my doctor retired and I had to get a new doctor. I’m at the same place just new doctor and she wouldn’t see me for anything until after I had a new patient appointment. Anyways, I told her I was sure I had costochondritis again because that’s what it felt like. She gave me an anti inflammatory to help. The thing is, lately the Pains are different. It feels more like a squeezing/pressure pain. It doesn’t last long and sporadically happens, but it feels like when an automatic blood pressure cuff is used to take your blood pressure periodically when you’re in the hospital. Thankfully the squeezing sensation doesn’t last that long. But, I can be at work just walking to the back or be laying in bed when all of a sudden I have that feeling/short lasting pain. Of course with costochondritis it gets worse with certain activities such as lifting heavy items or taking deep breaths.  I have a coworker that gets costochondritis too and said that’s what her pain feels like when she had it, so I don’t know if I should be more concerned or not. My pains with it have always felt like needles poking me or like I was being stabbed. I’m adopted so I don’t know if there’s a history of heart issues or other health issues in my family. I also have maxed out my insurance and don’t want to go to the doctor’s unless I need to, but I don’t want it to be something serious that gets worse because I didn’t get it checked out. I will say that I also get chest wall pain a lot. Like, I don’t always have Pains that come on like when I have costochondritis, but whenever there’s pressure on my chest, it hurts. For example, if my cat tries to walk on me when I’m laying down and puts her paws on my chest, it’ll hurt. If my niece or nephews put their hands on my chest when trying to climb down from my lap, my chest hurts. If I just press down on my chest myself, it hurts from the pressure. Obviously you don’t want a lot of pressure on your chest, but it shouldn’t hurt from having a 7.4 lbs cat’s paws or a toddler’s hands pressing on it some. My doctor that I had referred me.to the rheumatologist last year and I got steroid shots and some meds that didn’t help at all. They did an ekg at one point but everything was normal. I don’t know what to do.

Log in to write a note