The one where I get older

Yesterday I turned 33.

I really never thought I would have. Weird. I was freaked out all day Tuesday. I even stayed up all night, just till midnight just to make sure.

Anyways, my birthday. I didn’t have to take kids to school!

Ed took me to Ikea, and to portillos for lunch!

We were silly, we were fun, we laughed, we talked, we just were us, us without kids. magic!!

We did some serious wedding planning, locked down some plans, and not just hypothetical discussions, we actually made choices. We narrowed it down to two songs for first dance 1) Beautiful Trauma, Pink! 2) Hold Each Other, Great Big World. I think we will go with the second one. We also discussed processional music. We have two very different ideas. One super silly, one socially acceptable. I wonder what one we’ll chose? Also, father daughter dance, to star wars theme, that works right? Also, we have decided we need the recessional music to be from a john wayne movie because he loves it so. See. we are trying to make this our own.

The first time around, I eloped, his previous wedding he was supposed to be stoic, proper, he was told where to go, sit, stand, smile, breathe, he had no say. She did everything. He assumed that how ours was going to be. I finally was like no, this is our wedding. We are doing stuff we like. If I am planning all this myself, we aren’t doing it. If we are doing it for us, because we want it then yes, but give input. He is now, I think he finally gets that

At Ikea I got a wall shelf for pictures, napkins for class parties, some frames, glasses, dishes. We no longer have divorcee dishes! I am so happy about that.

We came home, had dinner, french dip subs, sugar cream pie, (everyone had matching plates, cups, silverware)  and candles, presents. I got a cool heating pad bear, and some essential oils.

We went to the drive through light display with my dad.

We came home, put the kiddos to bed, and had some adult time. I have to note, we did some stretching exercises I learned in PT, and for the first time in I can not remember when it didn’t hurt when we had sex. Maybe we can make that happen again? I hope so.

Overall, I had an awesome day, I have wanted Ed here for my birthday for so so many years, and finally he was. I want every single birthday from now on to be shared with him. Not just birthdays, but ordinary days too.

Today, I worked all day, and I am getting sicker and sicker, I am not sure if this is a cold or the flu, but I feel terrible.

Log in to write a note
December 15, 2017

Aw, Happy Birthday. Your wedding sounds like it will be lovely. I hope you feel better very soon!!

December 15, 2017

Happy Birthday…you look quite lovely. 🙂

I was going to read backwards to see how things have turned out since we last visited, but this was nice to find that things are working out nicely for you and your family. 🙂

December 16, 2017

Happy late birthday! This made me laugh because a bazillion years ago, right after I graduated from college, I worked at a printshop in Atlanta and one of my coworkers turned 33 while I was there. I thought she was soooooo OLD… she might as well have been 110. Now that seems like a mere infant. Keep enjoying them, and it’s all perspective!

Your wedding plans sound great. I’ve been married twice, neither was terribly formal but the last one was quite laid back and lots of fun. Enjoying it is the most important thing.

December 19, 2017

Are you in Illinois? I went to Portillos when I visited Chicago unless it’s now expanding beyond Illinois. Happy Birthday btw, I turn 33 in a couple weeks myself.