My motivation is …

… fueled by doing … one of my favourite go-to affirmations, and it works.  The key is to start.  Whether it’s housework, or writing, or going to the gym, or Christmas shopping, or whatever … once I start doing, the momentum begins and motivation to keep on doing builds strength.  I’ve referenced plodding along several times over the past few months which I thought was the same as doing, but it isn’t … it’s close though, and in a certain way I think it may be the coverup of the depression.  “Oh I’m putting one foot in front of the other, thank you very much.  I’m just fine and dandy like cotton candy”  Not!!  Russell used to say it was my hormones running amok when I would slip a little on the attitude scale, and that rightly pissed me off.  There’s probably some truth in that however, knowing abit more about how my body operates, but it’s not the Only reason.  I spent some time over the past few days pondering the emotional and mental state I’m in, and I’m fairly sure it’s just an overall general feeling of dissatisfaction … lack of, less than, not enough yada yada yada.  It’s gotten to the point where that feeling has gained enough strength to overshadow the gratitude I have for my life and the endless good that is in it.  What I’ve determined since the acknowledgement is that I’ve been seeking external satisfaction more than I have internal … meaning I look for pleasure externally, whether it be my job, my children, money, relationships etc.  If only I had a better job …. if only my children called me more … if only I had more money … if only I had more friends …. if only …. when did I start saying this? As I’m writing, I can feel in the pit of my stomach that this is Not something that is being said from my true self …. Hello BJ, I seeeeee you!!!!

Log in to write a note
September 26, 2019

I always want to find an excuse to pin men’s bad moods on the way they pin it on our cycles. Funny how they never notice their own damned moodswings!

And I think I need to take a tally on how much external validation I’ve been seeking and why, too. That’s a good inspiration. Thanks for that.

September 28, 2019

@poisonnoir

Hahahaha yes!! I work with 12 men and over the past six years I have come to know their mood swings … they seem to coincide with the full moon Lol …. not joking!!

validation! what an excellent word, and I thank You for that 🙂

September 28, 2019

Question?  All these what if’s are just that, what if’s…….I can’t understand why people including myself just can’t Do It and get it done….why think about stuff and situations you wish you were in instead of being happy with what you got?  it took me more then 30 years to figure all this out and now I am much better but still have a lot of work to do on myself to be the most perfect I can be……Sounds like you have come a long way to but keep on trucking because it only gets better…..

September 29, 2019

@jaythesmartone

Thanks Jay!  I don’t think there’s anything wrong with wanting more, but becoming obsessive about wanting more is when it all gets a bit muddled.  Denial of how I feel is a sure way for me to obsess about everything I don’t have, and life is too short to be unhappy or dissatisfied, especially when it comes to things I can change.  Oh oh oh, Serenity Prayer!!