Red flags …

… are not easy to discern sometimes.  Well, that’s not really true … they’re easy to see and feel, but it’s Not easy to pick one up and start waving it and say NO, I don’t like what is happening and I want it to stop.  I’ve always said I’m as flexible as a rubber band, non-confrontational, easy to get along with, and will always put others before myself …. sigh …. so much so, that I have been walked on all my life and just because I’m seeing the red flags now doesn’t mean I know what to do with them.  I don’t blame other people … it’s just what happens when a little girl is molested and doesn’t know what’s happening to her or how to say no to someone she trusts … her boundaries were violated (blech I dislike that statement immensely).  Skip ahead 50 some years or so, and an adult woman is seeing red flags all over her yard.  She is finding out that when she says No, I don’t like what is happening and I want it to stop, that some people will just disappear … poof … gone … as if she used her magic wand and tapped them on the head ……… and then there are others, who will pout and make weird comments, as if trying to make her feel sorry for Them because she said No ………….. and then there are others, who will open their arms and wait …. until she’s ready.

Log in to write a note