Hard week.

So I had a bit of a tough week. One of those weeks that can’t end fast enough.I got to spend Wed. surrounded by old and dear friends from my early 20’s. I love these guys and it’s a fucking shame that I don’t get to see them as much as I once did. I remember those days with a warm heart. I had no fucking clue who the hell I was, still don’t for the most part, and I don’t think any of us really knew what was in store for us. We were all together for the funeral of my friend Tom. Tom was 36. I shared an apartment with his brother for about a year and a half. There was a whole group of us that hung out and drank like alcoholics and bragged about the fact that we could pretty much drink our body weight in beer and still function with some sort of basic motor skills. Over the course of the last week I noticed one thing that began to get on my nerves a little. I’d be talking to someone and it would come up that my friend Tom had past away. They would ask me how it happened. Cancer. Oh thats horrible they would say , 36 is too young they would say, I would agree. Then they would ask me if Tom had a wife and family. No. I would say. Tom was single and had no children. The majority of them would come back with something along the lines of "Well at least he didn’t have kids."  This is what started to bug me. To all the people that looked me right in the face and told me that It’s a good thing that my friend Tom died without having any children or a wife, I have only have this to say.

FUCK YOU. Arrogant assholes. Your lucky I didn‘t decide to wail on you with a chunk of lumber and stand on your fucking necks while wearing hockey skates. Tom was a good friend. Shame on you for looking me in the face and saying that his life would have been more important if children were involved. Assholes.

Log in to write a note
June 7, 2008

{{{{{hugs}}}}} it is so hard to lose our loved ones, even our peers…I’m proud of you for restraining yourself, maybe you can find a diplomatic way to share the same sentiment, just to get the point across…

June 5, 2009

Big HUGS! RYN – Thank you! =-)