It’s Merely Civilization

It’s been sort of disconcerting, there’s lots of angry yelling in the streets of the city the last couple days. Contrary to what many would believe, New Yorkers are pretty civil to each other most of the time. Yesterday, in a twelve-block stretch, I probably witnessed/heard at least four altercations in the morning – and similar experience in the evening. I was willing to dismiss it as a bad karma day – but this morning seemed the same. I wonder what’s going on with people?

There’s so much unrest and discord in the world (real and perceived) and meanwhile the quarantine of a city of 11 million people (Wuhan) just came across the news, due to the new coronavirus. I hope that this is not something I will look back at years from now and say – “there, that was the moment it all started”!

Not that I’m a pessimist or anything, I’m not. But I just finished reading the excellent Station Eleven by Emily St. John Mandel, which happens to be about living in a world twenty years after societal collapse due to a flu virus. I think this book does an excellent job portraying the ways people would react to such a situation. It’s also really interesting, in that it keeps shifting back and forth in the timeline to times before the collapse and times twenty years later, showing how they are all interconnected. The structuring of it reminded me a little of Cloud Atlas (I’ve seen the movie, not read the book, and yes it’s not the best thing ever) in that it strived to show how the actions of many people are intertwined and interdependent on each other over time. (Funny, I don’t think I ever read that Wikipedia article on Cloud Atlas – it actually describes the plot in a way that is understandable – no small feat.)

Sort of like The Butterfly Effect.

DiaryMistress and I watched The Station Agent last night (this entry started out as one thing and I guess has now just turned into a bunch of links about movies 😂) – it was really good. I had never seen it, but always heard it was good – and also the first movie where people realized Peter Dinklage could act. Turns out, it was filmed in some locations I’m semi-familiar with. It had that definitive feel of an early 2000’s indie film, but awesome nonetheless – excellent acting by Patricia Clarkson as well.

I went looking for a tweet I saw this morning to paste here, but I couldn’t find it – the gist of it was “everyone has battles they are fighting, whether seen or unseen”. That was one of the themes running through The Station Agent, I think. Something we all need to remember, and as I’ve said before, one of my primary reasons for creating Open Diary.

Nobody in this world has it all together. We all have battles we are fighting, seen or unseen.

Not sure where I was going with this, but I think I’ve run out of steam. Also, have a new keyboard and we have NOT made peace with each other yet – the spacing and travel of the keys is not making me happy.

Looking at that sentence makes me a little sad – we so often let our happiness be defined by the devices we interact with (and the stuff that emerges from their screens), sometimes I think a societal collapse would do us all good. We could go back to interacting with each other as humans, rather than interacting with each other through all these digital and electronic layers.

Gosh, this entry keeps turning dark.

There’s too much I would miss if technology was suddenly removed from my life:

  • the ability to reach almost anywhere in the world by jumping on a plane or a boat
  • being able to listen to any song or album I want to from the last seventy years
  • light at the flick of the switch – since the Thanksgiving-set-yourself-on-fire episode, I have a problematic relationship with candles
  • being able to FaceTime people who are far away from me
  • seeing all of the 43,919 digital photos I’ve taken, displayed on a map that shows me down to street level where I was when I took them
  • clean water
  • power drills and saws, I’m good with a chisel and handsaw, but I don’t like it
  • I could probably do this all day

Don’t get me wrong – I have my Wilderness Survival merit badge, I could get by in the woods if I needed to – I just don’t want to. (One of my favorite merit badges – for the final test, they set us down ten miles in the middle of a wilderness, with just a map, a compass, and whatever we could pack in a Coke can. I made it out in less than twenty-four hours.)

Have a good day!

 

 

 

Log in to write a note
January 22, 2020

Have you heard the song Things It Would Have Been Helpful to Know Before the Revolution by Father John Misty? Watch the video and read the lyrics….he muses about some of the same things you do in this entry.

January 22, 2020

@thecriticsdarling I have not, but I definitely will, thanks!

January 22, 2020

There’s a lot to respond to in this entry. I feel like I got my Wilderness Survival merit badge but never had to do that. Maybe they changed it? I also don’t know for sure that I got it. I might have just gotten the camping one or something.

Sometimes I ask myself if my phone is my best friend. Without it, I’d lose contact with so many people.

I like the movie The Butterfly Effect. I haven’t seen it in a long time, not sure if it holds up. I like it because it makes me think. Sometimes I get lost in thought because I can pinpoint all these events that happened in my life because I joined OD.

Some of what you read made me think of this experience I had many years ago. I went to the local Wendy’s to get something to eat because I was hungry and lazy, I just ordered the food and was nice about it. I got to the window and the person working said she gave me extra food because customers had been really nasty to her and so she really appreciated that I was nice to her. It takes so little effort to make or break someone’s day.

January 23, 2020

@heffay yes indeed, I kind of wandered in this one 🙂

The being dropped in the woods and finding your way out was not an “official” requirement of the Wilderness Survival badge – it was just something the counselors at the camp I was at thought was a good test 😂.

January 23, 2020

@thediarymaster I would have loved to try that. I love camping

January 22, 2020

Sounds like a book that’s up my alley.

January 23, 2020

@queenofegypt it was really good, I thought!

January 22, 2020

Some of this entry reminds me of

https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Armageddon

I think with every generation there is always a group of people who think life on earth is hell and we are all going to evaporate into thin air…..But so far I think we have been lucky.

January 23, 2020

@jaythesmartone that is true, I hope we continue to remain lucky! I am for the most part an optimist, contrary to what this entry might show 🙂

January 22, 2020

My line has always been that we have all been dealt our cards and we have to play them, whatever they may be.  As you say no one is without troubles.  I can’t deal with books or movies with a terrible message.  I don’t want to have my head in the sand, but I try to stay as positive as possible.

January 23, 2020

@dlk082244 staying as positive as possible is never the wrong approach, for sure.

January 26, 2020

Ah. Bei g a social worker, I commiserate with you. There is a lot of fighting and discord and hurt. I recently started to meditate and I was thinking about how theres so much hurt in the world and I had an image of two strangers walking up to each other, placing their hands on each others hearts, feeling each others pains and then embracing.  If we could just stop and listen to each others deepest hurts, we would be a lot more kind. I have a knack for getting people to open up and tell me deeply personal thoughts. It’s both an honor and a curse. Nonetheless, I choose to radiate love and compassion.  <3

January 27, 2020

@celestialflutter that is such a beautiful image, if only we could all actually do that once a day, the world could be healed. I have so much respect for anyone who is in social work, that is a very difficult thing, but so important!

February 21, 2020

I have the DVD, “The Station Agent” and it’s one of the DVDs I watch over and over. I have a HUGE library of DVDs. Not sure how that happened; they just seemed to multiply over time and a few years ago I documented them. That document continues to grow as does the library – four 3-shelf bookcases worth.

February 24, 2020

@theobscure that’s a lot! I have boxes of DVDs but it’s funny how it seems like so much trouble to get them out and put them in the player anymore HA! I look forward to watching The Station Agent again, definitely worth multiple views.