Locks onto any Zerk

Amazon is targeting me with ads for this thing, everywhere I go online. Had no idea what it was, so had to go google “zerk”.

Which will ultimately lead to me being targeted with even more ads for zerk-related tools and accessories 🙁

Turns out, I do know what this is – but only because I worked a couple summers in college as a construction equipment mechanic. It goes on the end of a grease gun, and locks onto the little fitting where you inject grease into grease-needing mechanical things.

Which, my mechanic’s experience was a million years ago, so how did the internet decide now is the time that I need to improve my grease gun with a Lock ‘n’ Lube? If I think back to when I actually did use a grease gun, way back then – I do remember that you always had to hold the hose coupling thingy on the grease input thing with one hand, while you pumped the grease with the other hand. So having something that locks on is a good idea.

But still, not a device I need in my current job 🙂

I do have one theory though. Frequent visitors will remember that I am a reader on WWII history, quite a lot. I -may- have googled “grease gun” at some point, but in reference to the WWII-era M3 submachine gun, which was known colloquially as the “grease gun” due to its appearance. Maybe.

Anyway, it will be interesting to see how long the internet keeps trying to sell me the Lock ‘n’ Lube, it’s been going on already for a few days.

 

Log in to write a note
February 18, 2020

I’ve been targeted with the “winter pill” which is apparently some sort of pool treatment you put under the cover to prevent algae growth as the weather warms up.  I don’t even have a pool.

February 18, 2020

@janesays well, we can never be too careful with unwanted algae growth 😂 maybe it could have uses other than your non-existent pool.

February 18, 2020

A Zerk? WTH??? :^o

February 18, 2020

@albatrosswing my thoughts exactly 😂

February 18, 2020

@thediarymaster A futuristic torture device?? :^D

February 18, 2020

I am surprise that your Facebook feed isn’t trying to sell you “program” stuff for this site…..

February 18, 2020

@jaythesmartone I don’t use Facebook much, but if I did it probably would!

February 18, 2020

I wish the internet would try to sell me a jerk.  For some reason lately it’s been showing me nasty pictures of someone pulling a chunk of earwax out of their ear.  WTH.  I don’t remember ever googling anything remotely related to earwax.  Barf.

February 18, 2020
March 4, 2020

I have been seeing that one a lot lately too. ANNOYING.

@pretty_when_crying

March 5, 2020

@zucchini I’m glad that I am not seeing that one yuck!

February 18, 2020

I learned something new today.

I have to admit, “lock ‘n lube” sounds vaguely obscene. Come to think of it, so does “zerk”.

February 18, 2020

@gypsywynd I thought the same – it all seems vaguely obscene 🙂

February 18, 2020

But you NEVER know when you will need your grease gun!! Come on! Be realistic! LOL

February 19, 2020

@snarkle I was thinking about that, and I actually did own my own personal grease gun, at some time decades ago – I wonder what ever happened to it!

February 19, 2020

@thediarymaster maybe you should find out! It never pays to be careless with your greasegun! Those Zerks are hard to handle!

February 19, 2020

@snarkle 😁

February 19, 2020

A Zerk sounds like an alien from Hitchhikers Guide.

I won’t say what a lock n lube sounds like…

February 19, 2020
February 19, 2020

Well, I learned a new word today.  Zerk.

February 20, 2020

@queenofegypt every time I type “zerk” it autocorrects to “jerk”. Don’t know what that tells me about my typing habits.

February 21, 2020

Funny name. Why it sounds like it could be a short nickname for “Mark Zuckerberg”, I don’t know… LOL.  Is there any profile you have on any other media out there, or maybe your résumé or school notes of some sort are posted somewhere (maybe even by a former classmate) where some part of your past jobs or hobbies are mentioned?

February 21, 2020

@thenerve Zuckerberg was always Zuck, back in the day – but Zerk would be a good fit too!

February 22, 2020

@thediarymaster – Right? For “Zuckerberg” and “jerk”  😛

February 24, 2020

@thenerve totally!

February 21, 2020

I get haunted by ads from anything! If I check something on a medical topic, I get haunted with suggestions of what will cure me or what else it could be. lol

 

February 21, 2020

@catsrule the worst are the ads for something you’ve already bought, which happens to me a lot.