Making Bagels?

Not that we’ve made them yet, we are just talking about it. I find that one of the things I miss about life before quarantine is a good bagel. Will we be able to make an acceptable substitute? Not sure, because the bagels where we live are pretty darn good. There are tons of bagel recipes online, and lots of different options that don’t require any special equipment or ingredients (other than you have to have bread flour, not just regular flour – which we do). We will see, we talked about doing it Sunday but ended up doing a bunch of other stuff around the house.

Also, missing pizza. Two things that are very good around where I live are pizza and bagels. Not to start any fights with any other part of the country – but other places I travel to, the pizza especially can be very sad 🙂 (and those of you in Chicago don’t come out me about your deep-dish pizza – I’ve had it and it’s wonderful, but it’s not “pizza” to me).

I see lots of commercials from pizza chains that are saying how their pizza is cooked to 450 degrees and I can get contact-less delivery and so on – but chain store pizza is not the pizza I love, it’s from the pizza place down the street, and they are not open even if I wanted to risk getting delivery.

These are strange times indeed.

I did get through the big pile of stuff that was in my office for selling or donating, and took almost six hundred pictures and boxed it all with labels so we can find it all again – so when the world does ever go back to normal, we will be able to just go through the pictures and say “today’s the day we sell that Lord of the Rings 12″ Legolas figurine”. To be clear, the LOTR paraphernalia that was in the pile all came from one of my son’s ex-almost-girlfriends, who had given them all to him because she knew he liked that kind of stuff (as do I, but not enough to buy them).

I will say, I’m keeping the One Ring that I found mixed in with all the action figures, commemorative New Zealand Post coins, and LOTR goblets (pictured above). Of all the things, I can’t let that one go 🙂 It’s now hanging from my desk lamp so that I can use it to control any Nazgul that come by.

Speaking of nerdy, we discovered the other day that Audible is hosting Harry Potter (at least the first book) for free listening during this crisis – we listened to the first chapter the other day. It’s the version that was read by the amazing Jim Dale (I just found out that Stephen Fry did the version that was sold in the UK). If you haven’t ever listened to it, this very blurry video from thirteen years ago gives you a flavor of it:

My kids grew up listening to these audiobooks, having first read them – and Jim Dale did a wondrous job of bringing all the characters to life.

In any case, you can listen to it through Audible or by asking Alexa to read it, if you have them.

I forget how much more detail there was in the books, having gotten used to watching the movies over the years. The fact that Mr. Dursley works for a company that manufactures drills, for example – just so perfect for describing his character, I think. I’ve said this before, but I credit the Harry Potter books with being the entire reason why one of my three children fell in love with reading.

Just to prove I wasn’t kidding about twelve-inch Legolas:

Doesn’t really look much like Orlando Bloom though. Which reminds me, one of the many reasons I really, really, really disliked the three Hobbit films was because it was so obvious that Orlando-Legolas was older than he was when he appeared in the LOTR films. Which one, the Hobbit obviously happens before the LOTR stories, and two, even if it was the other way around, elves age over thousands of years so any aging that Legolas would have gone through in the Hobbit-LOTR expanse of time would have been unnoticeable.

And don’t even start with me on what they did with the character of Radagast. I don’t care how eccentric he was, he never would have worn a hat encrusted with bird poop.

Well, this entry just turned into a long fall down a deep nerdy hole HA.

Hope you are all staying safe and well!

 

 

Log in to write a note
April 28, 2020

Here is a nice easy bagal recipie for you

https://www.recipegirl.com/2-ingredient-bagels/

And to make self rising flour you add baking powder like 1 1/2 tsp

and then there is no mess….

April 28, 2020

@jaythesmartone thank you that looks like a good one!

April 28, 2020

New York?  I’ve only been there once but yes, the passion around bagels and pizza was palpable.  Here in the Pacific Northwest we’re snobby about coffee and fish & chips.

Jim Dale reading the Harry Potter books!  Omigosh!  I listened the first time on cassette tapes and have since added them to my audible library.  Nothing against Stephen Fry but Jim Dale is the Man!

 

April 28, 2020

@drama wow, we only had them on CD, never on cassettes 🙂

I am also a huge fish & chips fan, and yes the Northwest is very good at that!

April 28, 2020

@thediarymaster well, I AM 100 years old so cassettes it was!  If you ever get to Seattle, Spud’s fish & chips is the best EVER.

April 29, 2020

@drama I will have to try that! I have been to Seattle several times, it is a favorite city 🙂

April 28, 2020

my roommate and his girlfriend have started making pizza at home, and it’s pretty good. But, then, I’m in California, so its probably subpar 😉

April 29, 2020

@thelastdruid I’ve had pizza in California, and well – if they are making it at home, it might be awesome 🙂

April 28, 2020

Homemade pizza is not the same as pizza place pizza, but it’s still good!

Let us know how the bagels turn out.

April 29, 2020

@queenofegypt totally agree, we have made pizza at home and it’s just not the same.

April 28, 2020

The pizza shop near me has reopened, so i can now get my favourite Parmo again.

The thing that puzzles me about the Hobbit films is how they got three films out of that small book

April 29, 2020

@williamthebloody I know on the three films, it was kind of enraging how they dragged the story out just so they could sell more movie tickets. My opinions and experiences with the Hobbit films vs. the LOTR films are pretty much polar opposite of each other.

April 28, 2020

I’ll bet you just cherish that Big Bang Theory episode where they get one of the original LOTR movie rings and fight over it. “My preciousssss….”

April 29, 2020

@startingover_1 yes, one of my favorites! In fact, when I pulled this One Ring out of the box, that episode was the first thing I thought of 😂

April 28, 2020

Oh, I hear you on the pizza and bagels! When I moved from Brooklyn to Rochester, I couldn’t find “real” pizza anywhere. Eventually, I discovered decent bagels, but not pizza.

I had to move to god-forsaken Florida of all places to find real pizza.

Good luck on the bagel baking. Post pictures of the finished product.

April 29, 2020

@gypsywynd I have not yet found good pizza in Florida, but I do suspect it is more likely than good pizza in Rochester 🙂

April 28, 2020

I completely agree on LOTR. It was butchered. I could go on and on about it. I watched 1 and 2 of Hobbit and lost my lunch. Big fat nope there.

April 29, 2020

@snarkle the Hobbit films were the worst. I did love the LOTR films, but I think I am probably insufferable to watch them with because I am constantly pointing out all the things that were left out or changed.

April 29, 2020

@thediarymaster LOTR was breathtaking for vision… omg yes. But the liberties taken were hideous. The Hobbit… there are not even bad words available for me to express my feelings about that … mess… ohhh vomit

April 29, 2020

@snarkle 😂 totally

April 29, 2020

 

Ahhh a kindred soul who is pizza picky too! I’ve eaten the real stuff from the real folks, and yeah, there IS a difference between decorated dough and PIZZA.

I had a chuckle with “ex-almost-girlfriend” :))) Sounds like your son treads with caution, which is not that bad at all LOL

April 29, 2020

@thenerve “decorated dough” HA! I’m going to use that the next time I have bad pizza.

May 1, 2020

I’ve never read any of the Harry Potter books.  I guess I should some day.

May 4, 2020

@dlk082244 they are really very good storytelling, I recommend them 🙂

May 7, 2020

@thediarymastet

Guess I’ll have to try them sometime. I have a Ken Folet and a Sandra Brown on my Kindle right now.  I’ve had a hard time getting started 9n either one, and both authors are favorites.

May 7, 2020

@dlk082244 I’m having trouble getting through books the last couple weeks too – I thought I would be reading like crazy during all this shut-in time, but so far it’s not working out that way!

May 10, 2020

Very cool memorabilia. I like the ring! I once saw a huge version of the ring used for close up shots in the movie. Bagels are the best. No, Everything bagels are the best…with some cream cheese, a thin layer of smoked salmon, tomato and capers. Yum. We are lucky that our best local pizza shop is open for takeout. Stay safe. <3

May 11, 2020

@celestialflutter salt bagels are my thing, with cream cheese, and weirdly sometimes strawberry or blueberry cream cheese. I never imagined there was a huge version of the ring – but thinking about the film shots, that makes sense!

May 24, 2020

Hello @TheDiaryMaster, my apologies that this is completely off topic of your post. I’ve been trying to make a post about offsetting my personal losses from COVID-19, a major stressor of mine as someone who wants to have a nice financial safety net. Apparently, there’s some type of filter that will not let me post — it says, “Usage of inappropriate words.” Can you or someone on your team please investigate what’s going on? I can send you the entry. I don’t understand the reason for it violating terms of use.

May 26, 2020

@justamillennial hi and sorry for the problem – it does sound like a word or phrase you are using is being caught by our anti-spam protection. If you could copy and paste the text you are trying to post in a message to the Support staff (through the link at the bottom of the page), they should be able to work it out for you. Sorry for the inconvenience!

May 24, 2020

Do you live in NYC? I’m biased towards thinking that’s tye best place for bagels and pizza. I miss bagels and pizza too.

May 26, 2020

@justamillennial I live in the area and work in NYC – it is the best for bagels and pizza, for sure! (as far as I’m concerned 🙂 )

June 14, 2020

I live in illinois. I live 4hrs from Chicago, but have been there a few times. I know a lot about Chicago style pizza, I’ve had it there and even throughout the state we have versions of the Chicago style. And—truthfully it’s a bit much for me, there is a lot going on. I would love to try pizza in NY, I have never visited, but it’s on the bucket list.

June 16, 2020

@cherrywine_1 it is a bit much! That’s the perfect description. I hope you get a chance to have pizza in NYC someday 🙂

July 12, 2020

Where are you? I’m getting worried!

 

July 13, 2020

@snarkle Hi! Still here, but thanks for asking 🙂

July 13, 2020

@thediarymaster YAY!!!! Glad you are here!