House Projects

One of the advantages of being stuck in the house all the time is that there are all kinds of home projects that are getting done and crossed off my list.

One that was not on my list (I don’t actually have a list, it’s just a bunch of jumbled up stuff in my head that I know needs doing) that came up recently had to do with our water heater. For the last couple months, our hot water has been turning a shade of green that at first was not noticeable – but in the last few weeks if you filled up our bathtub (which is white) it was a pretty unappetizing color.

The internet is a wonderful thing, because in the olden days I would have called a plumber, and the plumber would have come and told me that, since my hot water heater is over ten years old, it is time to replace it – and that would have run quite a bit of money. We have a nice big water heater, 75 gallons – a quick check of Home Depot shows they run over a thousand dollars. Plus installation.

But thanks to the internet, I learned about anode rods – my journey to anode rod education started with a video from this Old House, where Bob was talking about the “sacrificial rod” inside most modern water heaters. This led to a bunch more googling. So, something I never knew – inside water heaters, there’s this thing:

I’m pretty handy with things like this, but this I never knew. The anode rod’s job is to corrode away while attracting all the corrosive elements in your water, thus saving your water heater tank from corrosion. Because if your water tank corrodes, then it leaks, and then you have to replace it.

So, I ordered a replacement anode rod from Amazon, replaced it in about half an hour, and a week later the hot water is running clear and lovely. I wish I had taken a picture of what was left of the old anode rod I took out – it looked like one of those rock candy on a stick things we used to get at the drugstore counter.

Today’s project is figuring out how to change the skinny-head thing on my weed eater – it broke last year and I never got around to replacing it. I ordered all the parts, but got stuck on how to get the old one off. More googling to happen soon, I’m sure.

Also, there’s a huge pile of stuff in my home office that we are intending to sell on Facebook Marketplace (the only part of FB that I use) – I need to get started going through those and taking photos and posting them because the pile is disturbing my otherwise sort of orderly office space.

Featured photo above is unrelated – but it’s a Mccormick tractor that also needs help (but not mine, and not at my house). My grandfather used to have one just like this on his farm, and I learned to drive it when I was young. Makes me wonder if I would remember how to navigate the levers and pedals still.

Hope you are all staying healthy and well!

Log in to write a note
April 21, 2020

I love Youtube for the home repair and cooking videos.  Glad you were able to DIY and same some cash!

April 21, 2020

@drama yes! I didn’t put this in the entry, but the fix ended up costing about $30 so that was pretty good 🙂

kat
April 21, 2020

getting lots done…

April 21, 2020

@kaliko 👍

April 21, 2020

Youtube is a wonderful resource for all the things you don’t know how to do but gotta do.

April 21, 2020

@snarkle totally – this is just one in a long line of things I’ve learned there.

April 21, 2020

@thediarymaster GO YOU!!

April 21, 2020

Be careful when you are trying to sell stuff on line because there are a lot of scams out there.  the most famous one is potential buyers saying it was a mistake to send you the money because it was not what they thought they bought.

April 21, 2020

@jaythesmartone thanks and yes for sure there are a lot of scams! We try to only use FB and eBay, and so far so good.

April 21, 2020

That’s awesome! We had a similar experience with a toilet that’s been backing up. Didn’t want to bring a plumber into the house, so we bought a toilet snake and figured it out ourselves. I hear other people are learning to cook for the first time or cut hair. Self sufficiency is nice.

April 22, 2020

@alika toilet snakes are one of my favorite tools – that’s a good one to know how to use 🙂

April 22, 2020

I’m not sure I’d want to attempt such a repair. I’m pretty handy, but I’m getting older and my hands are weaker, and I just don’t wanna.

April 22, 2020

@startingover_1 I totally understand that 🙂 The other thing I had to buy for this repair was a breaker bar, which is a very long handle for a socket wrench – it’s made to give you more leverage, which made it possible for me to unscrew a really stuck bolt head. Twenty years ago I wouldn’t have needed the extra leverage!

April 22, 2020

Great that you were able to fix the water heater.

April 23, 2020

@gypsywynd thanks!

April 24, 2020

I’m healthy and happy! 😀

April 24, 2020

@littleavocado I’m glad!

April 28, 2020

What a great way to save a lot of money…DIY projects.  You’re very handy with fixing things to begin with, obviously, so I imagine Google and YouTube are icing on the cake for finding out how to fix things.  Alas, doing that repair on the water heater is so far beyond my skill level that I’m just in awe that you could do it.

Love the old tractor.  It must have been really nice visiting your grandfather on his farm.  I have my own story, somewhat similar, that I might write and post here.

Thanks again for all your great work here!  We need OD now more than ever!

 

April 28, 2020

@oswego you’re welcome! I actually wasn’t clear about that – the tractor was at a farm I visited recently, but it was not my grandfather’s – he is unfortunately passed from us for quite some time. My grandfather did have one just like it though, which I did learn to drive a million years ago 🙂