Self-Quarantine, Day Which?

Funny, but I’m not really sure how many weeks we have been under quarantine? Four weeks? maybe five?

The time is all kind of running together for sure, and I see a lot of people online talking about how they are having trouble keeping track of which day of the week it is – which I am definitely challenged with.

I have revived an old habit of bouncing a foam ball off my computer monitor while I am thinking – bounce off the desk, ricochet off the monitor, and catch – then repeat. It’s something I used to do quite a bit, and drove my co-workers a bit nuts I think. Now, working in my home office by myself, it doesn’t bother anyone 😀. Probably not good for my monitor though – in the old days, when I did this, it was a CRT with glass front. Now I’m working with an LED (LCD?) screen, and bounces are probably ouchy for its pixels.

It’s been gratifying to see so many people from the “old” OD coming back to the site the last few weeks – I feel like OD offers something unique at this particular time in history, and I hope everyone else is finding it the same way. I’m also glad we have a group of people that are writing about this interesting and scary time – so others will have that history to read in the future.

One thing I would like is if every TV commercial that starts with “We are all in this together”, or “We are here for you”, or “In these unprecedented times”, or any variation of those – it would be great if those would just go away. Domino’s Pizza and Chrysler really have no personal relationship with me that justifies this HA.

Also, maybe this is 1% of what our Depression-era grandparents and great-grandparents had baked into their conscience – but it’s a new thing to have to think about being sure to use every bit of food that’s in the cupboard and not letting any go to waste. Reading that sentence again, I am reminded of how lucky I am – and how to millions or billions of people around the world (and in my town) that is not a new thought at all. Maybe we should take this as a chance to gain some newfound insight into the lives of people who live every day without enough food or resources.

There is so much tragedy in this, and so much loss – lives, health, happiness, jobs – so much that will be gone and won’t come back. My family and I are very lucky to have what we do.

I hope you are all staying healthy and happy!

 

Log in to write a note
April 14, 2020

I still have the ability to work so I normally know what day it is. But I’ve had the last 5 days off work. So these days have run together

April 14, 2020

@serenadeoliver I do too, but that’s not helping me much with the days 🙂

April 14, 2020

Thank you again, DiaryMaster, for making this indispensable site available for us now, and for posterity, especially in these strange and deeply troubling times we are living through.  You have expressed your feelings eloquently here.  We should all be thankful for what we have and realize we are all in this together.  I am hopeful that major changes will be coming after this.

April 14, 2020

@oswego I hope that as well, but I fear that our society has a very short memory.

April 14, 2020

We’re safe, happy, and very fortunate during these crazy times.

 

April 14, 2020

@queenofegypt I’m glad!

April 14, 2020

<3

April 15, 2020
April 14, 2020

We are living in interesting times, for sure.

Btw, I think it’s Tues (but I could be wrong)

April 15, 2020

@gypsywynd it was! but now it’s not 🙂

April 14, 2020

Most of the adverts over here are people shot on mobile phones saying how they are helping and supermarkets saying what they’ve put in place to help protect them, asking people not to use home delivery unless they need to and advertising their special opening hours for the elderly and .

Except Aldi, who are telling you they are open as usual

April 15, 2020

@williamthebloody ours all seem to be car companies telling us vaguely how they are helping people by forgiving late payments, and also you should buy a new car.

April 14, 2020

I simplify. It’s today! I live in today. The rest of it is just hearsay or speculation. Today is what I have so I’ll take it. Thank you for this site! Thank you very much!

April 15, 2020

@snarkle you’re welcome 🙂 and I like that approach to the current day!

April 15, 2020
April 14, 2020

I used to bounce balls off the old CRTs too. Drove my father crazy. lol And what, you don’t think Dominos truly CARES about you and your family? Can’t imagine why a huge corporation doesn’t give you the warm fuzzies when it says it’s ‘here for you.’ 😛

April 15, 2020

@soldis and I don’t even like their pizza!

April 14, 2020

I think Donald trump needs to keep his pie hole shut and do exactly what the top doctors say to do.  I am really scared that Trump will open everything and then the virus will spread to the rest of the world because travel will be allowed and even more will die.  I do know one thing Canada will still be in self isolation till a vaccine is made and distributed.  I wonder just how much Trump knows how deadly this virus is?  I think trump and his family and those who run the white house needs to get this virus then maybe trump will do what is right.  But then I am just a crazy Canadian who cares for people too much.  Stay safe my friend and all the best to you and your family.

April 15, 2020

@jaythesmartone thanks, I hope you and your family stay safe too!

April 14, 2020

I have turned my television off because of those commercials. It was getting to the point where I was getting angry and close to breaking the monitor.

April 15, 2020

@thenerve yeah, we are not watching much broadcast TV with ads anymore either – sticking to streaming that doesn’t have them for the most part.

April 17, 2020

I agree so much with this entry. First of all, I never want to hear “unprecedented or uncertain times” again. And I disagree that we are all in this together. There are so many different experiences to this tragedy. I am, by no means wealthy, but we are in a good space where we can afford to pay our bills and even extras that we want. Others are not so lucky.  We can try to support each other but we are not all in the same boat. Hoping you are staying safe.

April 20, 2020

@celestialflutter so true – especially the part about everyone having different experiences. We are lucky as well – and there are so many people that have it so much worse as a result of this crisis.