Please stay civil, for the sake of our community

Hello OD,

This is a quick one, as I am troubled by some things I have seen on the site the last few days.

I realize, of course, that all of us are under an incredible amount of stress right now, due to the ongoing pandemic, being stuck in our homes, worrying about our family and loved ones, and so much more. Believe me, I understand that.

But PLEASE remember that we are not here on Open Diary so we can insult each other, or call each other names. Acting in this way is a violation of the Rules of our site, but more importantly – it pollutes a place where I want all of us to feel comfortable sharing what is happening in our lives during these very difficult times.

If you disagree with what someone is sharing about their experience, or what they are saying about their feelings – feel free to disagree respectfully, but if it is turning into something where you are both getting angry with each other and starting to insult each other, take a few minutes away or do something else.

There are plenty of places online where people are allowed to insult each other – we have all seen how bad Facebook, Twitter, etc. have become. I do NOT want OD to be like that – we are here to be different. We will not allow this community to turn into just another unhappy online space.

I am saying all of this for the sake of being pre-emptive. Nobody has made any reports to the Support Staff yet about bad behavior – but I do ask that if you feel like you are being attacked or insulted on the site, to let us know about it. The Staff does have tools in the form of warnings and even ejections, that they are empowered to use if any member is becoming toxic to this community.

Please, everyone stay safe and also stay respectful of each other – we are all in this very bad situation together, and I want OD to be able to help people, not hurt them.

Thanks.

Log in to write a note
March 30, 2020

Thank you. Ive just decided when I read something I don’t like, stop reading and scroll to something else.  🙁

March 30, 2020

@caterpillardreams yes, that is exactly the answer. We can not change everyone’s opinions and feelings to match our own – especially in a situation like this. None of us can be the judge of everything else that might get put online – that’s an impossible task 🙂

March 30, 2020

@thediarymaster Yep.. I can see from the front page if Im clicking something or just moving along 🙂 I love this place…. this is not a place for being mean and insulting. Take that to FB where by the way I wont click you there either LOL

March 30, 2020

Thank you so much for this. This is why we can’t have nice things. Our online world has become so gross. Everyone is so righteous. Pretty sure NOBODY comes to OD for advice, really, but more so to vent, and release their deepest feelings, sometimes the rotten ones. We need to feel safe to do so. This has become such an oppressive world. If anyone does that in my diary, I will let you know, but will also block them. This is my safe space, and anytime I do give someone advice, I am so careful to be respectful and not judge, it’s really not that hard. We really all just think we know best, but everyone has a different path, life experience, and unique perspective. Thankfully, I’ve been very lucky here so far, and everyone in my diary, at least the ones who commented, have been great. 🙂

March 30, 2020

@free_spirit_gal thanks so much – “we need to feel safe to do so” is exactly the point. If people think that it is okay to attack each other, then nobody will be willing to share the way they should be.

March 30, 2020

@thediarymaster Very true. I personally do not come here to debate; people already do that everywhere else, it’s exhausting. A diary is supposed to be where you can be open, vulnerable, and imperfect, without fear of someone taking it as an opportunity to teach some life lesson. Everyone is so full of themselves and their opinions these days. Oops, looks like I am too haha. But yeah, anyway, thanks again for this post. I love this place, and always try, and will continue to do my best to, on my end, keep it a safe, supportive, and fun place. 🙂

March 30, 2020

Yes. Thank you for this. 🦋

March 30, 2020

@catholicchristian you’re welcome!

March 30, 2020

Question? Isn’t there always two sides to everything? Your side? My side? and the truth?  I think this is called having a debate or a discussion?  Am I wrong?

March 30, 2020

@jaythesmartone yes there are always two side (or more) to any debate. But we all have to respect that another person’s side is not automatically wrong just because it is not ours. Debate and discussion is fine, but insulting each other and calling each other names is not.

March 30, 2020

What I’ve always loved about OD is the connections,  the friendships I made here. It’s a special community. Thank you for protectingthat.

March 30, 2020

@gypsywynd my pleasure!

March 30, 2020

Thank you for this!

March 31, 2020

@queenofegypt you’re welcome!

March 30, 2020

Hi, I am back again, and really going to write daily. I don’t even want to really talk about Covid19 any more. I am so glad you wrote this entry. It’s sad, that we would “friendly (not so much) Fire—on Each  Other here!! I hope we all show the respect to others, that we like for ourselves!!   Thanks Bruce, you and your staff do a fantastic job here!!!  🕊

March 31, 2020

@butterfly4him thanks, and I’m glad you’re back 🙂

March 31, 2020

@thediarymaster : Thank you so much, dear man!!!!! 🙂

April 1, 2020

@butterfly4him you’re welcome!

March 31, 2020

As a person who desires to live in peace and harmony (for the sake of my mental stability if nothing else), I’m always surprised when somebody would CHOOSE to be rude and insulting (or downright mean) to another person. We can wave the “freedom of speech” flag all day long, but with freedom comes responsibility. A lot of people don’t understand that part. Thanks for the boundaries.

March 31, 2020

@startingover_1 you’re welcome – and it always surprises me too, but to each his or her own – I just know that there are plenty of other places online where people can act like that and it doesn’t need to happen here.

March 31, 2020

Respect goes a long way

April 1, 2020

@serenadeoliver indeed!

April 1, 2020

well said

April 1, 2020

@pulchritude thanks 🙂

April 1, 2020

This is such a blast from the past. I started my OD 18 years ago. Completely different world online. Hoping that coming back to a much smaller community now will mean less of the nastiness that’s everywhere else.

April 2, 2020

@hye-in that’s what I’m hoping too! I’m glad you came back 🙂