The Day Goes On

Not long after my last entry Nick texted me that his youngest sister is coming up from Texas this week so his mom wanted us to get together. Maybe now I can give them the Christmas presents I have had for them under the tree for the last 3 years. Nick’s relationship with his mom … and his dad for that matter … is kinda … strained?

Nick is the oldest (34) and the only boy. And of course, he was born with the cerebral palsy. I think she loves him, but she really didn’t know what to do with him. His sister Hollie is 2 years younger (So a grade under me) and has the same dad as Nick, but his mom and dad didn’t work out and she married this asshole named Terry. Used to beat Nick and treat him and Hollie like shit. Nick took the most of it though because he was older and the boy. Then his youngest sister Tara (26) came along …  Eventually Cari (Nick’s mom) left Terry and moved to Osseo and that’s when Nick I met. Nick was rebellious as hell when we met. Nick says his mom threw him out at 16 … I think it was more of him not wanting to listen to her and her rules so he left. But I won’t argue with him about it.

So he blames his mom for everything bad in his life, and he sees her post stuff about his sisters & her doing stuff together all the time on social media and he wont admit he is jealous. But then some time will go by and he will send her a message some random Tuesday and if she is busy he will make a big deal about it and blow up and not talk to her for a year. I was begging him last year to go to Christmas with them but he wouldn’t have it. Now all of a sudden he is excited to go. You never know what you are going to get with that man.

I don’t think she liked me in high school, but now that we are all grown up I think she is glad that I am here to take care of him. She doesn’t have to worry. She married a cop around 11 years ago and they have this nice wooden house in the woods. He’s Chief or something of the town next to ours. Nice guy. Their anniversary is around the same time as Nick and mine.

Anyway. We will be going there Sunday.

At 4:04PM Andre walked in. I was like “What are you doing here?”

-“It’s 4.”

“Yeah, but it’s Thursday.”

-“So?”

“I’ve been doing Wednesdays & Thursdays since March”

-“Really?”

“Really.”

I offered to go since he came all the way in, and I would stay tomorrow but he said he was going to get gas and go to the gym. Seriously. I have been working these doubles for the the last 8 months and he didn’t even notice?! I prefer having the Fridays off anyway, cause then it feels like the weekend is longer. Haha.

I saw Ashley a bit ago and shes like “Dude what’s wrong with your face?” She said there was something red under my eye and turns her camera to front facing so I could see. “Ash that’s just my face.”

“No the fuck it isn’t dude. I see it all the time. That’s not your face.” Then  she swipes around her phone to show me a picture from 2 weeks ago where that was not on my face. She follows me to the bathroom. But now that she pointed it out my eyes feeling kind of watery. I think it’s like a mosquito bite? I haven’t done anything new or different. But she remembers the time in high school where we drank peppermint schnapps and I broke out in hives and my lips were swollen and I got the nick name “Duckie” … I had to go to the hospital cause my throat was closing. I ended up having to go do some allergy test the week after because I didn’t want to tell my parents we were drinking – they were unable to determine what I was allergic to so they gave me an epi-pen and wished me well. I never touched peppermint schnapps again.

I sent Nick a pic of my face. He just replied “Gosh you’re cute.” Actually he said “your” but I let it slide. He didn’t notice anything off about my face.

 

On second thought, it’s probably just the start of a pimple and she got me all worried for nothing.

 

Log in to write a note
October 17, 2019

Families are complicated. There are so many emotions and so much history that gets involved in all the decisions. He obviously has a lot of stuff he needs to work out at some point. I guess you just have to remain patient with him.

I would think it’s just a bite of some kind, but you just have to keep an eye (that wasn’t on purpose) on it.

Can you have peppermint other stuff? Or do you think it was something else in the schnapps? Which I have never had before.

October 17, 2019

@heffay I know. And I’ve known him and his family for 18 years. He’s gotten a lot better. I just roll with it.

Probably a bite.

I eat peppermint all the time. Or at least I did till keto. (1 lifesavers mint has 15 carbs) and I’ve had butterscotch schnapps since then, so I really don’t know if it was a fluke or what.

October 17, 2019

@thelastdonut Oh, now I see you’ve added a picture. Have you been rubbing it? I don’t know.

October 17, 2019

Have you thought about pink eye?

October 17, 2019

@jaythesmartone It had crossed my mind … but it’s not right under the eye … is closer to the cheek. Is that normal with pink eye?

October 17, 2019

@thelastdonut I don’t know that maybe go to the doctor and see what he says?