Stupid Covid hits close

My  son-in-law has been hit with Covid. They’re all double vaccinated, so he’s not in the hospital, but he’s sick. My daughter and the boys (ages 11 and 13), are not yet showing symptoms and will be tested in the near future. In the meantime, they’re all self-isolating. My daughter is a cashier at a busy grocery store, so staying put is a good idea. Her hubby works in a fish plant. Be interesting to know who was exposed, but I’m pretty sure we’re all going to have it sooner or later. A coworker of mine was hit a couple of weeks ago, on a week that I was out with symptoms and waiting for a test and the result. I was negative then, as was the 19 year old grandkid who lives with me, and who also works at a grocery store. Same chain as their mum, different town.

To add to the fun, we’re having our weekend snowstorm. Last one was more of a long snowfall. This one has had lots of wind, but I haven’t lost power yet. The first storm of the year left us without power for about 18 hours. So fun. This time, I have the tub full of water for flushing purposes in case we lose power. No power, no pump; no pump, no water; no water, no flushing. But the house is warm. My legs are pinned with “kittens” (I put it that way, because, although Stormageddon and Jellybean are technically babies, being only 6 months old, they’re cat sized already.) They are going to be very big boys. Their papa is Siamese, and a big cat. They have the long legs, pointy faces, big ears, sinuous bodies of the Siamese. They’re very cuddly and generally sweet. My older girls, calico sisters who don’t like each other, and are 9 and 1/2 years old, are not thrilled at the presence of the boys. Oh well.

That’s all for now. I am unmotivated to write at the moment. My creativity seems to be on hold for a short time, but I can feel it simmering on the back burner.

Be well, be safe, be kind.

 

Log in to write a note
February 25, 2022

I am surprised: I’d never expect to see “Siamese” and “cuddly” in association! Happy for you to have that, even if its not as rare as I suspect, or have been conditioned to believe.

I had a dream recently in which there had been some kind of kerfluffle, and after it was over I was talking to someone who had rescued my cat, and they turned toward me and it reached for me and grabbed my shoulder and neck to climb into my arms, and I felt that warm embrace in the dream.

But I don’t have a cat.

So now I’m thinking I might get one. I’m still considering, being cautious about inflicting myself on another animal. My life is often long hours and unexpected, and my living conditions would be described by some as desperate. I don’t know if a cat is the answer. (okay, I know a cat isn’t an answer; that would be wrong. I mean, I don’t know if a cat is in the cards. 🙂 )

Glad you’re staying safe!