Where’s My Cow? — Edit

I’m just popping in briefly. Life rolls on, kind of boring at the moment, but potentially with big changes in the not-too-distant future. I don’t know. I’ve applied for a job in the Great White North, and have been through the written test and the interview. Next comes reference checks and a security check. When I applied, there were two positions open, and by the time my interview rolled around (6 to 8 months after the original application), a third had come open. However, the third one is just south of Santa Claus. I wouldn’t have to stay there forever, but OMG it’s isolated. It’s a small village, mostly with native northern people who still hunt whales and seals and such. But they do have internet, so that’s a plus. It’s called Tuktoyaktuk. Google it. Look at a map. Consider that it’s north of pretty much everywhere. There are a few places farther north, but a latitude of 69.4428 degrees…yeah. We’ll see how it plays out. I may not get any of the jobs.

I would have to arrange for most of my worldly possessions to be stored and given away among my children. I would probably just sell the motorcycle, and try to figure out what to do with my car because there’s no way to get there by driving in the summertime. You have to take the iceroad in the winter, if you want to drive, and fly up in a little puddle jumper the rest of the year. And then, once there, I would need a block heater in the winter, and there’s a chance the gas would freeze, anyway. But I would consider the job there, just to get my foot back in the government job world. Good pay, good benefits, the option to continue massage on the side, and the option to get a position or transfer back south. I would consider staying for a couple of years. It would certainly be interesting.

On to the title. I love Terry Pratchett, as you may know, and I bought his book for little people, "Where’s My Cow?" I took it with me when I went visiting, read it to my son’s little boy, Auron, who will be 4 in June, on a Friday night and by Sunday noon, this was how we looked reading it together: 

Where’s My Cow

 

I had to resort to a link. The FB embed code just wouldn’t stay in place. 

Edit to clarify the driving situation. If you had a car/truck there, you can drive around the town, but you can’t get there by car in the summer. I wish I could find out sooner, rather than later. The more I look at it, the more I’d like to go, just for the experience of being so far north and experiencing the Iniuvaluit culture. And I might have something to offer to the village as well. I see it as a win-win, even with the various difficulties. I love new things, new places, new people, new experiences. All I can do is wait.

 

Log in to write a note
March 17, 2013

That’s so lovely 🙂 I haven’t read any of terry’s children books but maybe I should 🙂 ankh morpork can’t just exist for adults 🙂

March 17, 2013

Check up on what people wear to be comfortable up there. Willy of

Why do you want to move that far north? Just curious. Brrrrr. Nice picture.

You look wonderful and my, my Auron has grown SO much! Apparently I have missed a beat or two. What kind of work are you looking in to? Personally, I love the idea of giving a try at living in the northern regions. Would it be temporary or permanent for you? Excited to hear more about this (ad)venture. More! More! 😀

Mns
March 17, 2013

ha, loved listening to him talk/read!

I like your attitude. I too, would be quite excited at an opportunity to live/visit that area. Crossing my fingers this will come through for you. 😀

March 22, 2013

RYN Chris Hadfield has been doing a Fantastic job. Getting those shots is no easy task.. I am loving his tweets from the ISS

March 23, 2013

Terry Prachett was one of Regans favourites.

March 30, 2013

fingers crossed about the job, it would be a grand adventure:)

April 3, 2013

I only use the chaldean version it is taught as the most accurate.

RYN; I deeply appreciate your comments. I realize we see life from different perspectives, but it never has stood between our friendship. Never have we found disapproval about our life choice, rather there has been tremendous support. I agree, what ultimately matters is kindness and love as much as possible. That is a universal law. Be well, my long time friend. 🙂