Birthday Entry

I try to do a Christmas/birthday entry every year, and here I am.

Very quiet today. This has been a birthday with just me and my youngest daughter, and it’s been nice. She made me a delicious breakfast this morning, and we’re having a very late supper because I just didn’t feel like getting the turkey ready while I was still super-stuffed from breakfast, and it took a long time to feel less full. Candied bacon and French toast.

We’re watching "Shrek" on TV, she’s sorting Lego and I’m taking a bit of computer time. Turkey and potatoes and turnip and sweet potato are all cooking. I made cranberry sauce earlier. It’s so easy and so much tastier than the canned stuff. Yum! Vanilla ice cream with maple cream liqueur for dessert. Wine to drink. Or rum and nog, or rum and Pepsi, or whatever. It’s all good. My oldest daughter called to wish me happy birthday, but I haven’t heard from Son yet. This seems unusual, but he may not know that the phone company we both use is giving free country-wide long distance until April. I did talk to him yesterday, and he wished me happy birthday on Facebook, so it’s all good. He opted to stay home this year. I think it’s their first year spending Christmas in their own home, instead of travelling to his in-laws. It’s good to start your own traditions, and I’m pleased for him to be doing this.

I’m also on vacation right now. I took the few days between Christmas and New Year’s, so I don’t have to be back to work until January 2. I’m stoked for the time off. I’ll be taking my daughter back to the city tomorrow or Thursday, and then it’s all *me* time. What will I do? Whatever takes my fancy!

Blessings of the season to you all. May joy and love and contentment fill your hearts and homes.

Log in to write a note
December 25, 2012

Happy birthday, Merry Christmas, and happy vacation! :DYou had me at “Vanilla ice cream with maple cream liqueur.” *inhales cyber aroma; swoons* Enjoy your “me” time!

Happy birthday. Merry Christmas. Maple cream liqueur? Does it have a name. I love maple and cream and this sounds like my type of stuff.

gel
December 25, 2012

Sounds like a very pleasant birthday. Enjoy your time off!

December 25, 2012

happy happy birthday and merry xmas too. xxx

December 25, 2012

Happy Birthday I hope you got some extra special treatment.

Mns
December 26, 2012

Vacation time is a good thing, especially around the holidays/birthday! Glad you had a nice day, breakfast sounds yummy. So does dinner, topped off with rum/egg nog 🙂 Now I’m gonna have to go to the store and get some… Belated holiday/birthday greetings and many blessings to you in the new year!

December 26, 2012

glad to hear you have a few days off. remember next time you go shopping that you are now at the first level of seniors’ discounts:)

This sounds simply lovely. Rum eggnog, eh? 🙂

December 27, 2012

Happy Birthday!!

January 2, 2013

Happy birthday, Torin, and may 2013 be a happy year for you. Willy of