car accident

So October 16th I got in a car accident with my husband’s car. Thankfully no one was hurt. I was driving down a street to go home to pee because I was waiting to pick up my husband from work and his work doesn’t have somewhere for the public to go so I started driving to go home real quick to go. There was a turn lane in the middle of this street and there was a minivan in that lane . As I was getting closer this lady started going in reverse and I didn’t have time to stop and ran into her. She had no reverse lights and no brake or tail lights or a turn signal on so I assumed she was waiting to make a u turn and go the other way or waiting til I passed to go into my lane. So my front driver side hit her driver side rear. The first thing I said was is everyone ok. Her first words were “you didn’t see me backing up?” Uh no I didn’t. So she called the cops or someone did. The cops showed up and basically told her she was at fault for the accident because she shouldn’t have been reversing in the turn lane anyway. I came to find out her driveway was why she was backing up but still. So we came to find out that she does not have insurance, her license was suspended, and her registration was suspended. So after a few days of phone tag I finally got a hold of the assessor person but that was last week and we still haven’t heard anything back so hopefully they will get back to us soon so we can figure out what the next step will be.

Log in to write a note
October 26, 2023

glad you were not hurt in the accident

November 25, 2023

@justanotherbalkan  thanks

October 26, 2023

Sounds like a chaotic time, glad no one was hurt!

November 25, 2023
October 28, 2023

Yikes!!  I’ve been hit by an uninsured driver as well and all it did was make my insurance go up because I filed a claim.  But how could I not?

I’m so glad you’re okay and that no one was hurt.

November 25, 2023

@novembercirese my premium was already high because we filed a claim of someone hitting my car but they didn’t cause too much damage.