school so far /thanksgiving break

So this school year hasn’t been too bad. We have one student that is a female with autism. She is also diabetic. She is verbal but you have to prompt her with questions or if you want her to ask for help you have to tell her what to say. She is sweet as can be though. Our biggest issue is in the bathroom. She has come out of the stall with her pants around her ankles which according to the nosy para in the other SCCC room she does that if there is no tp in the stall but there has been times that’s not been the case. She has also tried to lock me in the stall with her which I told her I couldn’t stay in the stall with  her because she needed her privacy. We also have another girl that has a condition in her brain which causes her to walk off balance . She just had surgery before break and she came out not being able to see but it has been getting better so hopefully she will be back at school too. She’s a sassy one and we found out that her para last school year did everything for her so we have to try to break her of that habit this year. I make her speak for herself instead of me doing it for her because in 2 years she will be in middle school and its very different from elementary school. I also found out that her and her sister were on my husband’s bus route last year so that was funny. My friend last year that had that traumatic event happen to him is getting better. He still elopes but it’s usually from gym for some reason but he doesn’t swear as much as he used to, he asks for help or confirms he’s doing his work correctly. He wanders around the room and touches things but he doesn’t steal anything. We just wish he would listen more so he can understand concepts better but he’s still doing better than last year so we aren’t complaining. The rest of the kids are sweethearts so it’s nice to have a good class this year. The 3rd SCCC class is going to be opening when we come back from winter break and my para friend that is in our room now will be in that room so that’s gonna be different but we will see what happens. The nosy para in the other class irritates us both because she does the bare minimum she can. Right now our class and theirs goes to specials together. She was taking her break first thing for gym and her kids are the ones with issues and I straight out told the gym teacher I’m not saying anything to her kids because I have my own students to worry about and the other para has tried to help with her students in the past and the nosy para got rude with her. I have 2 autistic students that I try to keep them engaged. The one I spoke about earlier and another female. Last year in gym the one I spoke about earlier would just sit out and not do anything because she was in nosy para’s class and she wouldn’t get her up to do anything and she’s fully capable of doing things she just gets scared of male students because of a incident when she was younger in school but I go out there with her or one of the gym teachers will take her out and she does fine. So yea and we are all 3 supposed to go outside with the students for recess and I sometimes stay back because the female student has to go to the nurse for insulin before she eats so she takes a little bit extra time to eat lunch so I wait for her and then take her out. Nosy para finds some way to not go out or if she does she goes out for a bit and then disappears. She tattled on me to one of the admins because I was playing uno with my friend with the balance issues because she was afraid to go on the playground because our classes go outside with 5th grade. So yea that’s school.

 

My thanksgiving break has been going pretty good. Tuesday I went to visit my brother in Kankakee. If I can figure out how to post a pic I will post it. We took him out for lunch at Applebee’s. He seemed to enjoy it. The rest of the week I haven’t done much. On Thanksgiving me and my hubby went out because there was a rumor of a bald eagle someone spotted in a field. Well we ended up finding a hawk with a broken wing and were able to get it some help so that was the highlight of the week. We celebrated Thanksgiving yesterday. It was just me, my hubby and my mom.

We have our bowling league tonight. We have been doing pretty good. We have a teammate that honestly irritates me but I just try to not let it show. She is autistic and has some hearing issue so you have to look at her when you speak but she’s just different. I just wear headphones and it helps.

I’m a little down about life right now. I just feel like I don’t have anyone to really talk to. My hubby seems not interested in my stories from work and would much rather talk about Taekwondo which I really have no interest in. I feel like I’m just stuck in the house because I don’t have many friends to hang out with. Our apartment is shitty and I don’t want to embarrass anyone by inviting them over. My husband won’t even have sex with me. It makes me think he doesn’t find me attractive anymore .  Every time I go to the doctor they tell me to get a gastric bypass. I’m now considered diabetic and most of the meds I can’t take because of my digestive issues. I don’t know what to do anymore. I love playing board games and just games like cards against humanity but don’t have anyone to play them with. I hope everyone had a wonderful thanksgiving.

Log in to write a note
November 27, 2023

Well, I’M interested in your stories about work.  And I play Mahjongg twice a week.  We are looking for another player, but I’m in the PNW and most likely, you are not.

Maybe consider the gastric bypass?  I’ve been on Weight Watchers for about 3 months and have lost 25 pounds.

December 2, 2023

@novembercirese thank you i appreciate it. I love mahjong but yea don’t think we are in the same area. As for the gastric bypass I have known people who have had it done and they felt horrible afterwards and could barely eat anything. If I considered anything it might be the gastric sleeve but not even sure on that.