i’ll introduce you to my class

I will substitute names or just use one letter* So let’s see there is A who is my autistic diabetic friend who talks but not very often and we are teaching her manners and to ask for things. There is Amy* who is also autistic but a sweetheart. She is stuck to me like glue which we are trying to break her of. She is always trying to be the last one to leave with me if we go somewhere. She is verbal.  There is I. I went to middle and high school with I’s mom. He unfortunately found her after she ODed so he now lives with his sister. He used to be shy and quiet but now we have a new confidence which then makes him argumentative. Like every conversation is a argument. He talks constantly. Has a lot to learn . There is X. He is a sweetie but sometimes gets a little rude. He can only see out of one of his eyes even though  he wears glasses. There is K. She is my friend with a brain condition. She has been out of school for quite a bit because she had brain surgery not too long ago but then got a infection in her incision so now she has to have a PIC line and antibotics. She is very sassy but lacks confidence. We were told her para last year did everything for her so we are trying to break that habit and get her to advocate and speak up for herself. She walks  strangely because of the brain condition and reminds me of my friend Lil Shell who was hit by the drunk driver. I miss K being at school. There is Josh* he has a language barrier but  he can speak english. He’s sweet but not that confident. There is John* he is our trauma friend who witnessed his sister get murdered. He has come such a long way from last year though. Last year he would get frustrated with work and you could see it in his face but he would still refuse help. He would destroy our room. Throw things and storm out yelling cuss words. This year he is asking for help without being prompted and trying. He still walks out but not usually class it’s specials and there is no cussing usually and he comes back in a few minutes. I’m so proud of him for all that he has accomplished this year. There is L he also has a language barrier but he is sweet too. I is another student with language barriers but is sweet and john really likes him. There is P. She is extremely low mentally and has a hard time thinking for herself like if one of  the other students does something she has to do it too. She reminds me of my brother. There is M. She is a emotional wreck sometimes. She likes to argue with her friend N all the time. She whines and she apologizes a lot which makes me think she gets yelled at home a lot. She is pretty smart though. There is N. He is pretty smart but he has a hard time socially. He is constantly bossing around other students, he puts his hands on others quite a lot and he can get smart with me sometimes which I don’t let him get away with. It is never a dull moment in our class. These guys are pretty good though. Most are 5th grade so this is their last year which makes me sad but hopefully they will be ready for middle school.

Log in to write a note
December 3, 2023

Bless them and you ❤️❤️❤️