New School year

Our school year started on September 2nd and so far it is been awesome compared to last year. I get to work with the awesome teacher I got to work with a few years back and there is another para in the room as well. I was a little worried about the other para because last year she would get upset when I didn’t go down to help get the kids off the bus. So far this year we haven’t had any problems with each other. We only have 7 students as of right now. 3 are fifth graders and 4 are fourth graders. We go into the 4th grade classes for specials and recess and lunch. The paras have to go with for specials but we don’t have to go with the students at lunch/recess so that is nice. We do small groups for reading and math in our room and the kids aren’t on the computers very often at all and we aren’t watching netflix movies or doing addition for half the year. This teacher is friends with the other teacher and the teacher this year is  upset with the shitty teacher because her students that she had last year  they barely know anything and a big part was the fact that she didn’t teach much last year and it definitely shows and the even worse part is 2 of the students from last year are 5th graders this year which means we only have this year to get them close to their grade level before they go to middle school. The even more interesting thing is the shitty teacher works with ED students. ED stands for emotionally disturbed. She literally only has 2 students and according to my friend she also has a para but one of her students broke her foot. I hate to say it but maybe karma for how badly she treated me last year. Just so glad I get to work with a awesome teacher and she told me that I need to really go above and beyond to prove to the principal I’m not that person that the shitty teacher claimed and acted like I was last year so I’m trying my best. I definitely feel a lot happier this year. I’m going to be doing a weight loss program in October. It lasts 4 months and has 2 supplements I will be taking. I will find out more details when I go for the first appointment. I’m hopeful. We also got a family membership to the Y so hopefully I can lose some weight if I can find the motivation to go. So in my state there is a vaccine mandate for all school staff and unfortunately because I’m afraid my lyme will get worse I can’t do the vaccine so I have to start getting weekly tested but the funny thing is a email we got from our district said that supervisors and managers weren’t going to come get results from us but that we had to have them just in case.So that is kind of weird. My husband got his first one and is scheduled to get his second the day after his birthday and my son got both of his.  Also this is my son’s senior year of high school. Where did the time go? I can’t believe it. I’m hoping he does well this year. He has a job at a Dairy Queen in our town so that is awesome.

Log in to write a note