Attendance and Guitars

Got a slight push from the Facility Manager today, there were four people with egregious attendance violations that he pointed out to me and wanted them addressed today. So I did, then I got curious and started researching and damn, almost half my folks are due to be talked to or reprimanded, including three I was about to promote. Their reprimands will make them ineligible for promotion. Yes, I could push the promotions through the personnel system and then reprimand them but that is not the right way to do it. This coming week is not going to be pretty at all.

I’ve decided that since I’ve been carrying around a fairly nice guitar for the past five years I should probably learn to play it. I got a nine dollar book/DVD combo pack at Barnes & Noble before I came back up. I’ll probably still need some professional instruction at some point, I learn better when I can have someone else tell me what I’m doing wrong, but this should get me the basics. They cover some basic cords, chord grids, and TAB notation. Since I already know how to read music I can transition to actual musical notation fairly quickly once I get the chords down and start to remember which string is which note. And no, sad as it sounds, I *don’t* know what notes make up each chord already. I’ve never learned a keyboard or string instrument before and wind instruments can only produce one note at a time so a big deficiency in my musical education. Go ahead, throw used reeds at me…

Ember’s making a trip up here tomorrow but I probably won’t see her since I’ve got to work. She’s got a baby shower to go to.

I slept really well last night, by the way. Thanks for the notes.

I stopped at the Franklin-Covey store in the Perimeter Mall too. I’m going to see if I can get Critter down there later in the year (Nov/Dec) and see if I can talk her into buying a real planner instead of just using the spiral bound calendar she has now. It’s basically a teacher’s lesson planner, and I think she needs something a little more substantial since she’s got her job, three kids with varying child care arrangements, and Other Guy’s job to schedule stuff around. And that’s before she even gets to the friend things she should be scheduling. I’d give her one of my old binders but she’s already said she won’t use it if it isn’t pretty, and mine are black and brown. I think she wants to get organized but thinks it’s going to be harder than it really is. If she’d just remember to carry what she’s got with her all the time that would be a great stride. Oh well, first learn walk, then learn fly.

I’m gonna try to get back to updating here every day. I’ve been venting with text messages on MySpace and Twitter so I’m not so pent up when I get home. Links to my profiles are on my diary’s front page if you’re interested.

Log in to write a note