Back from town

Just got back from my trip to town and it’s still there. The town I mean. I didn’t try to borrow anyone’s dryer and I didn’t use the laundromat because my dryer started working again after I got up. I’m still going to buy a new one though. It turns out that one of the newer one (specifically the Whirlpool Duet) is actually thinner than the one I have now, so I’ll just save my money and buy one of those instead of another cheap one. I won’t be able to buy the pedastal though, there’s a storage cabinet above my dryer and it would be too tall. I’ll probably replace the washing machine too at some point, but I’ll probably wait until I get promoted and figure out where I’ll be moving.

A few more things on the new Knight Rider: I like that they re-worked the original theme music, it was very well done. I also liked that they tied it back to the original and are acknowledging this as a sequel instead of trying to start fresh. I do hope that Team Knight Rider has been relegated to “alternate universe” or “it never happened” status. It was a fun show but it wouldn’t fit in the timeline. I also liked the ending (no spoilers). They mentioned Wilton Knight and the whole “one man can make a difference” thing but they didn’t beat us over the head with it. Overall it was very nicely done.

Now on to that dinosaur special from The Discovery Channel this past weekend: oh my god are people really that stupid? It seems that technology has reached the point where we are actually right on the border of having the ability to start experimenting with Jurassic Park type activities. I know they’ve seen the movie because they used clips from it in the special, but they’re still wondering if they should try. What the hell?!?!?! Science fiction can be loads of fun but it can also be very instructional. I don’t know if anyone could find a way to prevent that scenario from happening. I know of one resort thast backs up to an animal preserve, and as many moats and electrified fences as they have between the guest areas and the animals, in the basement is a room full of nastiness to be used to get the animals out of the resort if they should get in, and these are normal animals whose behaviors and abilities are well documented. Whatever. There was a line in the movie, I think Dr. Malcolm might have said it and it goes something like: just because we can do a thing doesn’t mean we should do that thing.

Silly people.

Log in to write a note

Ryn: now that would be fuuuuuuuunny, you could learn more about her nutty mom’s antics than you ever cared to know!!

Ryn: You’re not cold blooded at all. My siblings and I have had that discussion too. The only thing my Dad owns that has any value is his house and the 7 acres it sits on. My sister and I told my brother if he wants he can live there forever but if he ever sells it then we want our 1/3 of the dough!!

February 27, 2008

i liked the dino thing watched it at my moms. think it would be nifty to have a mini pet dino chicken sized. still dangerous but not too bad.