Home

Home now. Got to come back last night, and I’m stuck here. The first hill I have to get up is still icy. I slid most of the way down coming home.

I tried to get out today, just to make a quick run to the store and couldn’t. I didn’t feel like wrestling the chains on for just the two or three hundred yards of icy road I had to get past. I’d have to take them off when I got to the first paved road because they are all clear and it’d tear the chains up. And they’re loud as hell on asphalt, learned that last time.

I couldn’t watch K today, I was too worn out and tired from not being home. I think I had a bit of a fever the past few days as well. Critter had to take her to work with her today and I really feel bad about that. It’s not fair to K or Critter to have to do that. I’ll have her tomorrow, we may be going up to the cabin to check on it. At least there we’ll be out of the truck and still able to get her home tomorrow night. It’s supposed to rain, which would help tremendously with the melting, but it was supposed to rain today as well and didn’t. The temps are above freezing most of the time now, it only dips down for an hour or so overnight, but there’s just so much ice left. It’s going to take a while.

For those of you who may listen to the Neal Boortz Show in syndication but have not yet heard, Royal Marshall, Neal’s on-air producer for as long as I can remember, died early Saturday morning in his Atlanta, GA home. LINK.

Log in to write a note
January 23, 2011

Glad you are home!