Investigation and Clarification

Just to clarify, I don’t look for reasons to miss work, and if I miss work due to something I could have prevented then I’ll gladly make up that time. I sounded a little grouchy last time.

I did a little digging, and no one, repeat, no one worked any extra days or time last week, so the store couldn’t have been in such dire straights as he led me to believe. I double checked the policy and for me to have come in on my days off, especially in this situation (since it was weather related) he would have needed to get prior written approval from the district or regional office. Such approval would only be granted if they were provided with an hour-by-hour itinerary of what I would be doing and a brief statement as to why I couldn’t do said activities during my normal scheduled days.

It really sucks when I’m right but it doesn’t do me any good.

Had a fuel spill waiting for me when I got there this morning. One of the refrigerated trucks that delivered overnight had a leaking tank on its refer unit and there were ten or fifteen gallons of diesel puddled up at the bottom of my ramp. Yay. Fortunately the storm water drain was clogged with pallet pieces so it didn’t get into the ground water. Just to be sure I got a twenty-five pound bag of kitty litter off the shelf and used it to build a dam around the storm drain. The hazmat folks from corporate called as I was walking back in and they wanted to let me know for the love of all that is good, right, and holy in the world don’t use kitty litter on it. Bastards.

The clean-up crew got there six hours later and just laughed. They say the stuff they use is basically kitty litter that doesn’t clump, and since I’d used the cheap (read store brand) stuff that didn’t have clumping agents in it I was fine. Yay!

Log in to write a note
January 3, 2011

Did they take the cost of the kitty litter bag out of your pay? I am joking, but I would not put it past them!!

January 10, 2011

ryn: yeah, you’re right. jealousy gets the best of people…