They

Yeah. the boss questions my commitment to the store and my job because I was snowed in. He was most concerned that he didn’t get a reply from me after he sent me the previously mentioned text saying I needed to be there the next day. The text in which he neglected to ask if I was injured at all, or express any concern about my vehicle which is the only way I can get to the job in the first place.

He says he is concerned about the rotation, because now he doesn’t know where to put me. In other words he doesn’t trust me to work overnight by myself. Whatever. I’ve come to the conclusion that he’s an ass. Mentioned my attendance twice (but I’m salaried and we don’t have an attendance policy) and when I questioned him on precisely which days I’d missed he said my attendance really wasn’t an issue. Then he mentioned I was down to only working one of my days this week. Again with the attendance. He said if I’d come in when I was able to get out on Wednesday and again on Thursday that would have put a different light on things. Yeah, he wouldn’t have been so concerned that I was getting paid for days I wasn’t working. Ass. I’m going to e-mail the district HR wonk on Monday when he gets back but I’m pretty sure that current company guidelines do not require OR EVEN ALLOW us to make up missed shifts. Crap happens. Now if we are out more than a certain number of days we have to go out on leave, no big deal. If our areas implode because we aren’t there to baby-sit we can get reprimanded for that, but not for missing work.

The inventories went really well, with the exception of one area that normally has a very good one. He said they sucked. He said he can’t trust the numbers. So let me get this straight: if the numbers are bad it’s because I’m a crappy manager and can’t run my areas or teach people how to count. If the numbers are good it’s because I’m a crappy manager and can’t run my areas or teach my people to count. What the hell?

I’ve given up on ever being promoted, at least as long as he’s in the store. I’ll try for a lateral to the store across town or try to find something with another company. I’m not going to schedule my life around his whimsical mood swings and I’m not going to violate policy and come in to make up days I missed for things beyond my control.

Log in to write a note