Not much to say

Had K for a *lot* longer than I thought I would yesterday, but it’s all good. Never doing the baby-swap at the store again though. For almost an hour after Critter handed her off she was screaming and crying that she "want Mama!" She didn’t even fall asleep in her car seat on the way to my parent’s place, which is unusual. Normally if she’s the least bit tired (which I figured she was) the car seat is usually enough to put her out. Maybe she was too busy crying to notice she was tired.

She remembered her last trip up to my folks’ place though, and ran right to my nephews’ toy stash. I’m kind of surprised she remembered since it’s been so long (July/August 2007).

Critter bought her very first digital camera yesterday, she’s so proud! She got one by Sony. It’s an 8 MP rather than the 10MP that is becoming more common but it has some features that she wanted and the price was good. She also got her propane tank filled up yesterday, which is good because it was just about empty. The company she’s with won’t send a truck out for less than 150 gallons of propane, and it’s got to be pre-paid. I much prefer the company my parents are with – they check the tanks every six to eight weeks, fill up anyone at less than fifty percent capacity, and leave a bill on the front porch. Of course if you don’t pay them they’ll stop filling you up but they don’t let people just run out because the amount of fuel they need is less than some number they pulled out of their butts.

Speaking of which, I did have to call them on my way back yesterday. That’s one of the things I check on when I’m up there since a good portion of the heat is provided by the two gas-log fireplaces. I had them set low, and the furnace set low as well, since there’s no one there full time and the water has been drained from all the interior pipes. It was fifty-five in the great room when K and I got in yesterday, so I turned everything all the way up. Before we left, I checked the tank for a bill since we’re about due and noticed that we had dropped from fifty percent capacity to forty percent in just six days. Wow. We burned that much propane just to keep the house at fifty-five degrees, can you imagine if someone had been staying there? They said they were due to check on it next Friday (1/30) since we were at seventy percent last time they checked us right before Christmas. I told them we’d dropped to forty percent and they said they’d have a truck out today (1/22). Cool.

I asked Critter about her car’s air conditioner, and she hasn’t gotten it fixed yet, but she swears she going to this year. Just to fortify her defenses against what I knew was coming soon I reminded her that her tax refund was *her* tax refund, and she didn’t owe K’s dad any of it, she was to spend that money on things she (or the kids) needed or put it in savings. She just got this funny look on her face and I told her I was just reminding her of this because I knew she was such a sucker for him sometimes. She said it wasn’t that I was reminding her, it was that he’s already asked her for five hundred dollars. Ass face. And he’s got his job back. It seems someone (either the state or the feds) bailed out the parent company of the chicken plant so they recalled almost everyone they had laid off. Don’t even get me started on what I think about the government using tax dollars to bail out a chicken plant that has been "closing in six months" for the past five years.

Oh yeah, I left a brand spanking new sippy cup of K’s up at my parents’ place yesterday. Critter was a litle aggravated, but I’m still one up on everyone else that watches K because I know for a fact it’s actually there and not in a restaurant or on the side of the road somewhere. That plus it’s not K’s favorite, it’s the other one that came in the package. I’ll be able to get it for her next week, but it’s gonna be a little scary since it had milk in it. I might just buy her another one and lie about it…

Things with Nala seem to be going very well. We occasionally get right up to the edge of racy in our texts, but it’s hard to flirt using SMS. I just hope they continue down this road when we actually meet each other.

Log in to write a note
January 22, 2009

ewwww!!! yeah, I vote for NOT opening that sippy cup. well worth the few dollars to buy a new one. I just don’t understand this bailout thing. I’m all for rescuing the families affected by the bad decisions of corporate scheisters, but when are those scheisters gonna get what’s due them? How come they get to go home with fat pockets while the companies they were running crumbled to theground and everybody loses their jobs? I just don’t get it.

January 23, 2009

back away from the sippy cup…. (and maybe it’s time to get racy?)